Home / Method

Method

Laboratoire Européen d’Anticipation Politique founds its work on an original method: “Political Anticipation”.

Imagine a sailboat at sea heading to a harbour with icebergs and tempests on its way and dealing with winds, waves and streams… That’s what each of us, whether a citizen or a CEO, is in the steam of time.

Political anticipation is about setting oneself one simple goal (the harbour), anticipating obstacles (icebergs and tempests) and understanding long-, medium- and short-term trends (winds, waves and streams). The understanding of these trends is key (“anticipation”) but you also need to decide how to place your boat, sails, strings, weight… (“political”) for these to become your allies in reaching the harbour.

More practically, the Method of Political Anticipation is a very accessible and common-sensical set of advices based on the assertion that the human being must be aware of his connection to and influence on the future and learn to control better this power. These advices include :

–> understanding of the object of study (long-term trends, short-term trends, breaking points, trend accelerators/decelerators

–> optimal information (combining across disciplines languages-national background-social groups sources of information)

–> optimal anchorage in trans-national societal reality (through Internet and networking and awareness of one’s point of observation)

–> required state of mind (independence, courage, objectivity)

–> scientificity of the study (production of hypotheses, validation processes, evaluation)[1]

Political anticipation is intended to both policy makers and citizens as a tool of democracy in a complex world where the future is invasive and in which everyone has to enhance his/her capacity to judge the many future scenarios constantly served to him/her.

Today this method of Political Anticipation is:

. applied monthly to the global political and economic news in the LEAP’s bulletin, the GlobalEurope Anticipation Bulletin (GEAB)

. taught in school at INSEEC, IFAEE, …

. presented in the Manual of Political Anticipation, published by Anticipation Publishings

. developed in various articles, namely:

Accueil / Méthode

Méthode

Le Laboratoire Européen d’Anticipation Politique fonde son travail sur une méthode originale : l’ « Anticipation Politique »

Imaginez un voilier en mer, voguant vers un port, au milieu des icebergs et des tempêtes, avec pour seuls alliés les vents, les vagues et les courants… C’est un peu à cela que chacun d’entre nous – qu’il soit simple citoyen ou dirigeant d’entreprise – ressemble, perdu dans le flux temporel.

L’anticipation politique consiste à se donner un but (le port), à anticiper les obstacles (icebergs et tempêtes) et à comprendre les tendances de long-, moyen- et court-termes (vents, vagues et courants). La compréhension des tendances et l’anticipation des changements à venir sont essentielles (“anticipation”) mais encore faut-il prendre les bonnes décisions pour positionner son bateau, ses voiles, ses cordages, son poids,… (“politique”) afin de transformer ces tendances en alliés pour atteindre le port.

Plus concrètement, la Méthode d’Anticipation Politique est une suite de recommandations accessibles et de bon sens, fondée sur l’affirmation que l’être humain doit être conscient de sa connexion à et de son influence sur l’avenir, et qu’il doit apprendre à mieux contrôler ce pouvoir.

Ces recommandations incluent :

. la compréhension de l’objet d’étude (macro-tendances, tendances de court et moyen termes, points de rupture, phénomènes accélérateurs/décélérateurs de tendances)

. l’optimisation des systèmes d’information (trans-disciplinaire, plurilingue, multinationale, etc…)

. la distanciation d’un regard supra-national (via Internet et les réseaux humains) conscient des spécificités de son point d’observation (biais, subjectivités…)

. l’attention à l’état d’esprit requis (indépendance, courage, quête d’objectivité)

. l’effort de scientificité (production d’hypothèses, processus de validation, évaluation)

L’anticipation politique s’adresse tout autant aux décideurs qu’aux simples citoyens en tant qu’outil de démocratie dans un monde complexe où le futur devient envahissant et où chacun doit augmenter sa capacité à juger les innombrables scenarios d’avenir qui lui sont sans cesse proposés.

Cette méthode d’Anticipation Politique est aujourd’hui :

. appliquée chaque mois à l’actualité mondiale dans le cadre de la publication de LEAP, le GlobalEurope Anticipation Bulletin (GEAB)

. enseignée à l’école à l’INSEEC, l’IFAEE, etc…

. présentée dans le Manuel d’Anticipation Politique publié aux Editions Anticipolis

. développée dans divers articles, notamment :