Home / Home / Accueil / The establishment of the banking union: a big step forward for Euroland, by Harald Greib

The establishment of the banking union: a big step forward for Euroland, by Harald Greib

For the time being Euroland is first and foremost a zone managing a common currency. But this management is based on weak foundations. Many economists consider that a single currency can only be sustainable if it rests upon a political union, the kind of union which national politicians failed to agree on during the Maastricht Treaty’s negotiations.

If we have a look at the short history of the Euro, we must admit that it succeeded in imposing itself as a globally recognized currency, as the world’s second reserve currency, and that in the end it survived pretty well the post-2008 financial crisis (in which many anticipated its trespassing) and recovered a fairly good value against the dollar and other major global currencies.

The Euro survived as a result of bold political decisions to provide financial assistance to member-states in difficulty and to create an institutionalised rescue system of European funds, the ESM (European Stability Mechanism).  In doing so, Euroland proved that, even devoid of any political entity status, it was capable of acting as a political union.

From a different angle, Euroland also tightened its degree of integration: slowly but surely, the concept of solidarity among member-states is catching on. The ESM’s legal capacity to buy bonds of member-states in difficulty on the secondary market, as well as the ECB’s declared will (unrivalled by member-states’ governements) to do the same thing, is similar to Eurobonds. The pooling of member-states’ debts is underway.

These measures and decisions were made in the urgency of the crisis. However this crisis if the direct result of an unbridled speculation from banks and investment funds which a policy over-confident in the sole virtues of the market had freed from any regulatory constraint. As they saved banks, goverments nationalised private debts and the financial crisis became a state crisis.

The banking sector’s capacity to cause economic and financial damage has clearly demonstrated that the financial market must be regulated, just like any other market by the way, whether food, building or car making. Only through constant political and ideological pressure have bankers managed to convince policy-makers that an unbridled financial market would provide the conditions for prosperity in the future. It is high time to send this faith to the cemetery of religions and burry it next to the communists’ planned economy.

Such is the task Eurozone member-states gave themselves by means of their banking union project.

This union consists of two parts:

A “preventive” part, i.e., the regulation of banking activities.

And a “curative” part, i.e., the rescue, or even resolution, of failing banks.

The first part, alas, hasn’t gone very far – the resilience of ideologies is always amazing. Besides the obligation for banks to raise their equity ratio and a remote project (2020) to ban proprietary trading, there is still a great deal to be done in order to reduce the importance of big banks and the risk they represent for the economic and financial system. The creation of supervisory and controlling competence of big European banks at the ECB, due to be operational in the course of 2014, is cold comfort: before controlling, there must be rules to control.

But the “curative” part is in a better shape. Before the end of the year, the Ministers of finance of the Eurozone managed to agree on the creation of a resolution fund, consisting first of a network of national funds, then to be turned into a real European fund (up to 10% per annum on their capital and in ten years) accessible to all major European banks in liquidation. This is a proper pooling of risks on a European level. This is also a blow to Merkel and her resounding “no” to any European transfer union and to any pooling of European debt. It is therefore not very surprizing that, in front of the German media,  her finance Minister only mentions the national side of these funds, in charge of rescuing national banks, and avoids refering to the planned evolution towards a European system of active solidarity. Even a Germany dragging its feet couldn’t prevent the establishment of European solidarity rhyming with common currency.

With so much progress in the establishment of a banking union, Euroland has proved its capacity to develop the political union required for a sustainable Euro. Now Euroland should also consider coordinating the macro-economic policies of its member-states in order to avoid that the rush towards lower production costs in the member-states results in a Europe giving up on its wages and environment standards in favour of greater competitiveness. How ludicrous it would be to be competitive at the cost of becoming poor! What a political mistake it would prefer economic growth to Europeans’ well-being!

———–

Useful information:

“Conferring specific tasks on the European Central Bank concerning policies relating to the prudential supervision of credit institutions”, Council Regulation (EU) No 1024/2013 (15 October 2013)

“Banking supervision – What is it?”, ECB

What other think of it ?

“L’union bancaire pour les nuls”, Le Figaro

Bankenabwicklung und Bail-in – eine vorläufige Bewertung, Axel Troost/Rainald Ötsch, Nachdenkseiten.de

Union bancaire : Le grand bond en avant, Presseurop

About Marie Hélène

Accueil / Accueil / Home / L’instauration de l’union bancaire : un grand pas en avant pour Euroland, par Harald Greib

L’instauration de l’union bancaire : un grand pas en avant pour Euroland, par Harald Greib

L’Euroland est actuellement avant tout un espace qui gère une monnaie commune. Mais cette gestion se fait sur des bases bien peu solides. Nombreux sont les économistes qui considèrent qu’une monnaie unique ne peut être pérenne que si elle repose sur une union politique, union sur laquelle les politiques nationaux n’avaient pas réussi à se mettre d’accord lors des négociations du traité de Maastricht.

Si l’on regarde la courte histoire de l’Euro, force est de constater qu’il a pu s’imposer comme monnaie globalement reconnue, comme deuxième monnaie de réserve après le dollar, et qu’il a finalement bien survécu à la crise financière d’après 2008 –  où beaucoup le voyaient moribond –  pour retrouver une valeur tout à fait correcte face au dollar et aux autres grandes devises mondiales.

L’Euro a survécu grâce à des décisions politiques courageuses d’aides financières aux états-membres en difficulté et de création d’un système de sauvetage institutionnalisé de fonds européens, le MES (Mécanisme Européen de Stabilité).  Ce faisant, l’Euroland a démontré que, même dépourvu du statut d’entité politique, il était capable d’agir en tant qu’union politique.

Et sous un autre angle, Euroland accentue son degré d’intégration également : doucement, le concept d’une solidarité entre états-membres fait son chemin. La capacité légale du MES à acheter des obligations d’états-membres en difficulté sur le marché secondaire ainsi que la volonté déclarée de la BCE – non contesté par les gouvernements des états-membres – de faire de même, s’apparente de fait aux Eurobonds. Le chemin vers la mutualisation des dettes des états-membres a bien été entamé.

Ces décisions et mesures ont été prises ad hoc, sous le feu de la crise. Mais cette crise est la conséquence directe d’une spéculation effrénée à laquelle se sont livrés des banques et fonds d’investissement qu’une politique qui faisait trop de confiance aux seules vertus du marché avait libérés de toute contrainte régulatrice. En sauvant les banques, les gouvernements ont nationalisé des dettes privées et la crise financière s’est transformée en crise d’état.

La capacité de nuisance économique et financière du secteur bancaire a clairement démontré que le marché financier doit être régulé, comme doit d’ailleurs l’être tout marché, qu’il soit celui de l’agroalimentaire, du bâtiment ou des constructeurs automobiles. C’est uniquement par un important travail de sape idéologique et politique que les banquiers ont su convaincre les décideurs politiques qu’un marché financier débridé serait la base de toute prospérité du futur. Il est temps de renvoyer cette foi au cimetière des religions et de l’enterrer à côté de l’idéologie de l’économie planifiée des communistes.

C’est la tâche que se  sont donnée les états-membres de la zone Euro avec leur projet de la création de l’union bancaire.

Cette union doit être composée de deux volets :

Un volet « préventif », c’est-à-dire la régulation des activités bancaires.

Et un volet « curatif », c’est-à-dire de sauvetage, voire de résolution, des banques en faillite.

Le premier volet, hélas, n’a guère avancé – les idéologies ont une capacité de résilience qui étonne toujours. Hormis une obligation faite aux banques d’augmenter la ratio des capitaux propres et un projet lointain (2020) d’interdire aux grandes banques le négoce pour compte propre, tout reste à faire pour limiter l’importance des grandes banques et le risque qu’elles représentent pour tout le système économique et financier. Le fait d’avoir créé une compétence de contrôle et de surveillance des grandes banques européennes auprès de la BCE, qui devrait être opérationnelle au courant de 2014, ne peut guère consoler. Avant de contrôler, il faut avoir des règles à contrôler.

En revanche, le volet « curatif » se porte mieux. Avant la fin de l’année, les ministres des finances de la zone Euro ont pu se mettre d’accord sur la création d’un fonds de résolution, d’abord constitué d’un réseau de fonds nationaux, qui successivement se transforment, à hauteur de 10% par an de leurs capitaux et sur dix ans, en un véritable fonds européen, accessible à toutes les grandes banques européennes en liquidation. C’est une mutualisation des risques au niveau européen. C’est aussi un camouflet pour Merkel et son “non” catégorique à toute union de transfert européen et à toute mutualisation des dettes européennes. Il est donc peu surprenant que son ministre des finances, devant la presse allemande, s’étale  uniquement sur l’aspect national des fonds, responsables du sauvetage des banques nationales, omettant toute évocation de l’évolution planifiée vers une solidarité active européenne. Même une Allemagne freinant à quatre fers ne peut empêcher la mise en place d’une solidarité européenne qui rime avec monnaie commune.

Avec ces progrès au profit de l’instauration d’une union bancaire, l’Euroland prouve sa capacité à évoluer vers l’union politique nécessaire pour pérenniser l’Euro. Il faudrait qu’Euroland s’occupe dorénavant aussi de coordonner la politique macro-économique de ses états-membres pour éviter que la course vers les plus bas coûts de production dans tous les états-membres ne fasse que Europe abandonne tous ses standards de protection salariale et environnementale au profit d’une plus haute compétitivité. Quelle aberration ce serait que de vouloir être compétitif au prix d’être pauvre ! Quelle faute politique que de préférer la croissance économique au bien-être des Européens !

———–

Informations utiles :

“Conferring specific tasks on the European Central Bank concerning policies relating to the prudential supervision of credit institutions”, Council Regulation (EU) No 1024/2013 (15 October 2013)

“Banking supervision – What is it?“, ECB

Qu’en disent les autres ?

“L’union bancaire pour les nuls”, Le Figaro

Bankenabwicklung und Bail-in – eine vorläufige Bewertung, Axel Troost/Rainald Ötsch, Nachdenkseiten.de

Union bancaire : Le grand bond en avant, Presseurop

À propos Marie Hélène