Home / Home / Accueil / Acceleration of the process of distinction between Euroland-EU, by Franck Biancheri (February 2012)
Logo_euroland

Acceleration of the process of distinction between Euroland-EU, by Franck Biancheri (February 2012)

An excerpt from GEAB N°62 (February 2012)

At the same time these two years will see the acceleration of the difference between Euroland and the EU. It is a phenomenon which will in fact characterize the whole of the decade. Euroland which functions to a large extent in the form of informal networks will gradually have to equip itself with some institutional bases. They will be modest because nobody wants a repeat of the bureaucracy which definitively ossified Brussels; but modelled on the ECB, the MES, a secretariat of Euroland governance will prove to be necessary very quickly, then certain specific institutions as well as a specific Euroland component within the European Parliament (meetings reserved for the European representatives of the Euroland countries to discuss specific Euroland questions, modelled on the Euroland summits).

This development will be all the more strong and rapid that the United Kingdom will try to slow down or block Euroland actions. There was such an example of the counter-productive effect of the British veto last December; it quite simply obliged the others to move on without London.

In general, Eurolanders will seek to use the existing EU institutions but distancing non-Eurolanders from the decision-making processes. Each time it’s impossible or too complicated, a new institutional base will be created. This development will be all the easier as all the EU countries, except for the United Kingdom, have a rationale for adhesion to the Euro in fact[1]. Most EU countries know that they will be in Euroland by 2017; which greatly facilitates Euroland progress for the years to come.

Thus, after about fifteen years of mistakes under British and US influence, during which Europeans were misled on enlargement projects without a future (Turkey, Ukraine,…)[2] and illusory economic-financial strategies (Lisbon treaty strategy,…), the next few years will bear the mark of the return to political and economic integration, as was the case at the time of the first EU renaissance in 1984-1992. According To LEAP/E2020, 2012/2013 will thus mark the beginning of the second EU renaissance.


[1] Including Denmark which is waiting for the right moment for a referendum on the subject (source: Euronews, 23/01/2012). The Czech case is very simple: with Vaclav Klaus no longer president, the Czech Republic will join the remainder of the European countries to prepare for Euro entry. It will be a phenomenon similar to the 2007 replacement of the Polish Kaczynski twins, pro-American and anti-European, by current the Prime Minister Donald Tusk, leading to a 180° turn in European policy. A final remark on the Klaus case: his party like his re-election to the presidency in 2008, via the vote of members of the Czech parliament, faced multiple accusations of corruption. Its “representativeness” of Czech public opinion is measured with these kind of “details”. In 2013, the president will finally be elected by universal suffrage. Source: Rue89, 09/02/2011

[2] This drift of the original European project prevented citizens from concentrating on the question of the governance/democratization tandem since Europe was always a movable feast. Thus, even at young generation level, the official promotion of this Europe without borders prevented the emergence of new initiatives to try and influence their future. Our team can note that currently, and at very high speed, this situation is changing radically.

About Marie Hélène

LEAP, Member of WFSF

Franck Biancheri Networks

Accueil / Accueil / Home / Accélération de la différenciation Euroland-UE, par Franck Biancheri (Février 2012)

Accélération de la différenciation Euroland-UE, par Franck Biancheri (Février 2012)

Un extrait du GEAB N°62 de février 2012

Parallèlement ces deux années vont voir l’accélération de la différenciation entre Euroland et UE. C’est un phénomène qui caractérisera en fait toute la décennie. L’Euroland qui fonctionne beaucoup sous forme de réseaux informels va progressivement devoir se doter de quelques bases institutionnelles. Elles seront légères car personne ne veut reproduire la bureaucratisation qui a sclérosé définitivement Bruxelles ; mais à l’image de la BCE, du MES, un secrétariat de gouvernance de l’Euroland va s’avérer nécessaire très rapidement puis certaines institutions spécifiques ainsi qu’une composante Euroland spécifique au sein du Parlement européen (réunions réservées aux députés européens des pays de l’Euroland pour discuter des questions spécifiques à l’Euroland, à l’image des sommets de l’Euroland).

Cette évolution sera d’autant plus forte et rapide que le Royaume-Uni tentera de ralentir ou bloquer les actions de l’Euroland. On a ainsi eu un exemple de l’effet contre-productif du véto britannique en Décembre dernier ; il a tout simplement obligé les autres à avancer sans Londres.

En général, les Eurolandais chercheront à utiliser les institutions communautaires existantes en écartant les non Eurolandais des processus décisionnels. Chaque fois que ce sera impossible ou trop compliqué, une nouvelle base institutionnelle sera créée. Cette évolution sera d’autant plus aisée que l’ensemble des pays de l’UE, à part le Royaume-Uni, sont en fait dans une logique d’adhésion à l’Euro[1]. La plupart des pays de l’UE savent qu’ils seront dans l’Euroland d’ici 2017 ; ce qui facilite grandement les évolutions de l’Euroland pour les années à venir.

Ainsi, après une quinzaine d’années d’errements sous influence britannique et américaine, pendant lesquelles les Européens se sont fourvoyés de projets d’élargissement sans avenir (Turquie, Ukraine,  …)[2] à des stratégies économico-financière illusoires (stratégie de Lisbonne, … ), les années à venir porteront la marque du retour à l’intégration politique et économique, comme c’était le cas lors de la première renaissance communautaire des années 1984-1992. Selon LEAP/E2020, 2012/2013 marquera ainsi le début de la seconde renaissance communautaire.


[1] Y compris le Danemark qui attend le bon moment pour un référendum sur le sujet (source : Euronews, 23/01/2012). Le cas tchèque est très simple : une fois que Vaclav Klaus ne sera plus président, la République Tchèque rejoindra le reste des pays européens pour se préparer à entrer dans l’Euro. Ce sera un phénomène semblable au remplacement, en 2007, des jumeaux polonais Kaczynski, pro-américains et anti-européens, par l’actuel premier ministre Donald Tusk, aboutissant à un virage de politique européenne à 180°. Dernière remarque sur le cas Klaus : son parti comme sa ré-élection à la présidence en 2008, via le vote des députés, font face à de multiples accusations de corruption. Sa « représentativité » de l’opinion publique tchèque se mesure à ce genre de « détails ». En 2013, le président sera finalement élu au suffrage universel. Source : Rue89, 09/02/2011

[2] Cette dérive du projet européen originel a empêché les citoyens de se concentrer sur la question du tandem gouvernance/démocratisation puisque l’Europe était une forme toujours mouvante. Ainsi, même au niveau des jeunes générations, la promotion officielle de cette Europe sans frontières a empêché l’émergence d’initiatives nouvelles pour tenter d’influer sur leur avenir. Notre équipe peut constater qu’actuellement, et à très grande vitesse, cette situation est en train de changer radicalement.

À propos Marie Hélène