Home / Home / Accueil / A piece of advice to the African Development Bank: Tempering the economic option of the “all-infrastructure”

A piece of advice to the African Development Bank: Tempering the economic option of the “all-infrastructure”

Source: www.pouvoirsafrique.com, by Magaye Gaye, Economic Consultant, President of the Senegalese Political Party “La Troisième voie”

On the side of the presentation of the report on Africa’s economic perspectives in 2018, the president of the African Development Bank (AfDB) announced that the Bank would organise the “Invest in Africa forum” on November 7th-8th in Johannesburg, South Africa, in order to mobilise funds for the development of infrastructures.

An organization such as CNUCED may estimate that Africa is losing 1% of economic growth per year and per inhabitant because of infrastructures deficit. But the real question is to know if those politics of financing almost everything in infrastructures as implemented by the AfDB years-long can economically be considered as a panacea for Africa?

The characteristic of the infrastructure projects is that they are highly capital-hungry, often unprofitable in the short-term, and sometimes demanding in terms of concessional resources, which are becoming rare when lender countries are in crisis. Hence the need to conduct of serious studies on opportunities but also on less expensive alternatives in terms of investment in infrastructure.

The characteristic of infrastructure projects lies in the fact that they can generate large short-term workforce hiring, but they also often create problems during the exploitation phase: high maintenance costs weighing heavily on national budgets, poorly negotiated BOT (Build Operate Transfer) contracts, underuse by users, low employability, etc… From this point of view, this kind of project may not be a reliable solution for youth employment, given that more than 10 million people are added to the active population every year in Africa.

For a long time, this tendency, or rather this fashion for infrastructures, has mobilized many decision-makers on the continent and swallowed up hundreds of millions of dollars without allowing to boost – for example for the overwhelming majority of the countries of the Continent – Foreign Direct Investments (FDI); even less so developing the private sector and drastically reducing poverty. Continental infrastructure needs are estimated around USD 130-170 billion per year, with a financial deficit around USD 108 billion. Isn’t it time to change economic option?

Infrastructural policies can serve as important guidelines if they are part of genuine strategies to revive domestic production, improve access and promote urban mobility. For example, infrastructure projects developed as part of the construction of urban highways, for energy mix production units can provide strong support for import-substitution economic strategies, processing of local raw materials and exports. It is time to think about targeted infrastructure policies, calibrated according to the real needs of the economy. For example, financial infrastructure aimed at supporting SMEs, the weak link of African economies, should be promoted to fight against the low financing rate of the economy.

It is also imperative to get rid of those mimicry temptations that lead to the realization of grandiose projects called modern, but ultimately revealed as “white elephants”.

In addition to a targeted infrastructure policy, the AfDB should also invest in research-development, entrepreneurial capacity building, inventorying, protection and implementation of the many scientific and technical discoveries stored in drawers by the Africans, and find effective strategies to support a dynamic and innovative informal sector. The AfDB should also exercise greater care in the efficiency of the infrastructure realization costs by being more demanding as regards corruption- which makes Africa lose 50 billion dollars a year – as well as in the appreciation of the relevance of the projects submitted by the States, a mess that often obeys political imperatives.

In conclusion, the time has come to raise the question of the relevance of infrastructure policies that fail to stimulate production and reduce poverty? Are we not putting the cart before the horse? Shouldn’t we test another economic model involving the development of local production, creating value, giving the state more fiscal means, thus creating the conditions for more self-financed infrastructures?

Magaye GAYE

Economic Consultant

Former member of the BOAD and FAGACE

President of the Senegalese Political Party LA TROISIEME VOIE

About Marie Hélène

Accueil / Accueil / Home / Un Conseil à la Banque Africaine de Développement (BAD) : Relativiser l’option économique du tout infrastructure
magaye-gaye

Un Conseil à la Banque Africaine de Développement (BAD) : Relativiser l’option économique du tout infrastructure

Source: www.pouvoirsafrique.com, article de Magaye Gaye, consultant Econmiste, président du parti Sénégalais « La troisième voie »

En marge de la présentation du rapport sur les perspectives économiques de l’Afrique pour l’exercice 2018, le  Président de la Banque Africaine de Développement (BAD) a annoncé que la Banque organiserait le Forum de l’investissement en Afrique les 7 et 8 novembre 2018 à Johannesburg, en Afrique du Sud, afin de mobiliser des fonds destinés au développement des infrastructures.

Un organisme comme  la CNUCED estime certes que l’Afrique perd 1 % par an de croissance économique par habitant en raison de son déficit d’infrastructures  mais la question est de savoir si ces politiques de financement du quasi tout infrastructure mises en œuvre par la BAD depuis des années peuvent économiquement être considérées comme la panacée pour l’Afrique?

Le propre des projets d’infrastructures est qu’ils sont très capitalistiques,  en général  peu rentables sur le court terme et parfois exigeants en ressources concessionnelles lesquelles deviennent rares dans les pays prêteurs en crise. D’où la nécessite de conduire des études sérieuses en termes d’opportunités mais aussi d’alternatives moins coûteuses en matière d’investissement dans les infrastructures.

Leurs spécificités résident aussi dans le fait qu’ils peuvent générer d’importants recrutements de main d’œuvre à court terme mais constituent souvent des problématiques en phase d’exploitation : frais d’entretien élevés souvent peu supportables pour les budgets nationaux, contrats de BOT mal négociés, faible utilisation par les usagers, faible employabilité etc…. De ce point de vue, ce type de projets pourrait ne pas être une solution viable à l’emploi des jeunes dans un contexte où plus de 10 millions de personnes grossissent chaque année la population active en Afrique.

Depuis longtemps, cette tendance voire cet effet de mode infrastructurel a mobilisé de nombreux décideurs sur le continent et englouti des centaines de millions de dollars sans pour autant permettre de booster par exemple, pour l’écrasante majorité des pays du Continent, les Investissements Directs Etrangers (IDE) encore moins développer le secteur privé et réduire de manière drastique la pauvreté. Les besoins en infrastructures du continent sont estimés à 130–170 milliards de dollars EU par an, avec un déficit de financement de l’ordre de 68 à 108 milliards de dollars EU. Le moment n’est-il pas venu de changer d’option économique ?

Les politiques infrastructurelles peuvent constituer des orientations importantes si elles s’inscrivent dans de véritables stratégies de relance de la production nationale, de politiques de désenclavement et de promotion de la mobilité urbaine. Par exemple les projets d’infrastructures développés dans l’érection d’autoroutes urbaines, d’unités de production de mix énergie peuvent constituer de solides supports pour des stratégies économiques de substitution aux importations, de transformation de matières premières locales et d’exportation ; il est temps de réfléchir à des politiques d’infrastructures ciblées, calibrées en fonction des vrais besoins de l’économie ; à titre d’exemple, des infrastructures financières de soutien aux PME, chainon faible des économies africaines sont à promouvoir pour lutter contre le taux de  financement faible de l’économie.

Il urge aussi de se départir de ces tentations de mimétisme qui amènent à réaliser des projets grandioses soit disant modernes mais qui s’avèrent en fin de compte de véritables « éléphants blancs ».

A côté d’une politique d’infrastructure ciblée, la BAD devrait aussi investir dans la recherche développement, dans le renforcement des capacités entrepreneuriales, le recensement, la protection et la mise en application des nombreuses découvertes scientifiques et techniques rangées dans les tiroirs par les Africains et trouver des stratégies efficaces d’appui à un secteur informel dynamique et innovant. Elle devrait aussi être plus regardant dans l’efficience des couts de réalisation des infrastructures en étant plus exigeante dans les stratégies de lutte contre la corruption qui font perdre 50 milliards de dollars par an à l’Afrique et dans l’appréciation de la pertinence des projets soumis par les Etats, véritables gâchis qui obéissent souvent à des impératifs politiques.

En conclusion, le moment est venu de se poser la question de savoir à quoi servent des politiques d’infrastructure qui n’arrivent pas à stimuler la production et à faire reculer la pauvreté ? N’est-ce pas quelque part mettre la charrue avant les bœufs ? Ne faudrait-il pas tester un autre modèle économique consistant à développer la production locale, créer de la valeur, donner plus de moyens fiscaux à l’Etat et autofinancer plus facilement les infrastructures ?

Magaye GAYE

CONSULTANT ECONOMISTE

ANCIEN DE LA BOAD ET DU FAGACE

PRESIDENT DU PARTI POLITIQUE SENEGALAIS LA TROISIEME VOIE

À propos Marie Hélène

LEAP, Membre de la WFSF

Les Réseaux Franck Biancheri