Home / Home / Accueil / Our books// A Manual of Political Anticipation: Introduction by Marie-Hélène Caillol
manuel ap

Our books// A Manual of Political Anticipation: Introduction by Marie-Hélène Caillol

For many years now, our European Laboratory of Political Anticipation has been using a method invented by Franck Biancheri: the Political Anticipation Method. The GEAB, our monthly Bulletin is the best example of how this method can be used. This method has been described and explained by our president Marie-Hélène Caillol in a book: A Manual of Political Anticipation, available at Anticipolis Editions. We offer you today an exclusive access to the introduction of the Manual:

On many occasions during the last 25 years, the sphere of influence focused around the personage of Franck Biancheri has, de facto, provided fertile ground for the correct anticipation of major historic events : the fall of the Iron Curtain, the crisis of the European Commission, the collapse of the Dollar and the global systemic crisis… are some of the most striking predictions in this story (which is still unfolding) on that part of this movement whose very diverse features (European context, network organisation, political objectives, independent state of mind…) allows to suppose that they play some role, without doubt, with this « ability ». Indeed, if one correct anticipation is the result of chance, the second can be good luck, but by a third, it becomes possible to hope that some rules and a rational approach are at play.

On the basis of these established facts Franck Biancheri began to forge the expression « political anticipation » in the ‘90s, so giving birth to a new tool in understanding and managing the world, a decision-making tool.

Since the middle of the ‘90s, Europe 2020 has developed a series of political anticipation studies applied, particularly, to the long-term development of the European Union (with 2020 as a horizon). Politics, international relations, sociology, institutions, the economy, finance, languages, education… multidisciplinarity and multi-linguistic characterize all these studies as well as two fundamental principles : use practitioners’ grass-root experience to the fullest extent rather than academic views, and have actual knowledge of the regions and countries involved (which really means knowledge other than of the capitals and elite leaders).

Then, the end of the ‘90s, saw the launch of the European Laboratory of Political Anticipation (LEAP). After many years working for national and European institutions providing forecasting seminars on a variety of European governance problems, LEAP decided in 2006 to give its studies a more general character and launched the GlobalEurope Anticipation Bulletin (GEAB), a monthly assignment in political anticipation carrying high risks in terms of credibility but necessary for understanding the usefulness and relevance of anticipation work. In effect, the wide exposure of the GEAB was the “test by fire” of political anticipation. Would our work stand up to close inspection by millions of people over many years?

Of course, there have been mistakes – in no circumstances should political anticipation be considered as an exact science, but the major trends (global systemic crisis, world geopolitical dislocation…) identified by the LEAP team from January 2006 onwards were verified openly and publicly by a large number of people. Thus, our work, heavily criticised at the beginning, has even forced the respect of academics, giving rise to a need for a contemporary approach, which is the purpose of this manual: What is political anticipation (and what it isn’t)? What is its use? What are the tools, principles and rules which shape it? What are its limits? These are the questions which this small manual will try and answer.

The analysis of the context provided by this European movement in which the story of political anticipation is written, numerous interviews with Franck Biancheri, careful reading of the GlobalEurope Anticipation Bulletin, as well as a series of seminars deliberating on the formalization of a method of anticipation, is the foundation of this publication.

About Marie Hélène

LEAP, Member of WFSF

Franck Biancheri Networks

Accueil / Accueil / Home / Nos livres// Manuel d’anticipation politique: Introduction par Marie-Hélène Caillol
manuel ap

Nos livres// Manuel d’anticipation politique: Introduction par Marie-Hélène Caillol

Depuis de nombreuses années maintenant, le Laboratoire Européen d’Anticipation Politique utilise une méthode inventée par Franck Biancheri: la méthode d’Anticipation Politique. Le GEAB, notre bulletin mensuel en est le meilleur exemple. Cette méthode a été décrite et approfondie par notre présidente Marie-Hélène Caillol dans un livre: Manuel d’Anticipation Politique, disponible aux Editions Anticipolis. Nous vous proposons l’accès en exclusivité à l’introduction de ce manuel:

A  plusieurs reprises au cours des 25 dernières années, la mouvance européenne centrée autour du personnage de Franck Biancheri, a de facto fourni le terreau à l’anticipation correcte d’événements historiques majeurs : chute du Rideau de Fer, crise de la Commission, effondrement du dollar et crise systémique globale… constituent les prédictions les plus frappantes de l’histoire (toujours en cours) de cette mouvance dont les caractéristiques très atypiques (contexte européen, structure en réseau, objectifs politiques, indépendance d’esprit…) laissent supposer qu’elles sont sans doute pour quelque chose dans ce « talent ». En effet, si une anticipation correcte est le fruit du hasard, et qu’à deux, c’est de la chance, à trois en revanche, on peut commencer à espérer repérer des règles, des méthodes rationnelles.

C’est sur la base de ce constat que Franck Biancheri a commencé par forger l’expression « anticipation politique » dans les années 90, donnant ainsi naissance à un nouvel outil de compréhension et de gestion du monde, un outil d’aide à la décision.

Europe 2020 a développé, à partir du milieu des années 90, une série de travaux sur l’anticipation politique, appliquée notamment à l’évolution à long terme de l’Union européenne (horizon 2020). Politique, relations internationales, sociologie, institutions, économie, finances, linguistique, éducation… multidisciplinarité et multilinguisme caractérisèrent tous ces travaux, ainsi que deux principes fondamentaux : utiliser au maximum l’expérience de terrain des praticiens plutôt que les réflexions académiques ; et connaître réellement les régions et les pays concernés (ce qui signifie notamment en connaître autre chose que les capitales et les élites dirigeantes).

Puis, à la fin des années 90, nous avons créé le Laboratoire européen d’Anticipation Politique (LEAP). Après plusieurs années passées au service des institutions nationales et européennes dans le cadre de séminaires d’anticipation sur diverses problématiques de gouvernance européenne, le LEAP décidait en 2006 de donner à ses travaux un caractère plus généraliste et lançait le GlobalEurope Anticipation Bulletin (GEAB), exercice mensuel d’anticipation politique hautement risqué en terme de crédibilité mais indispensable à la reconnaissance de l’utilité et de  la pertinence du travail d’anticipation.  En effet, la très grande visibilité du GEAB constituait l’épreuve du feu de l’anticipation politique. Nos travaux résisteraient-ils à l’examen attentif de millions de personnes sur plusieurs années ?

Bien sûr, il y eut des erreurs – en aucun cas, l’anticipation politique ne saurait être prise pour une science exacte, mais les grandes tendances (crise systémique globale, dislocation géopolitique mondiale, …) identifiées par l’équipe du LEAP à partir de janvier 2006 se sont vérifiées au vu et au su d’un grand nombre de personnes. Ainsi nos travaux, fort critiqués au départ, ont-ils forcé le respect jusque dans les milieux universitaires, donnant naissance à une demande de formalisation méthodologique qui fait l’objet du présent manuel : Qu’est-ce que l’anticipation politique (et que n’est-elle pas ?) ? A quoi sert-elle ? Quels sont ses outils, principes et règles de formulation ? Quelles en sont les limites ? Voici les questions auxquelles tente de répondre ce petit manuel.

L’analyse du contexte fourni par la mouvance européenne dans laquelle s’inscrit l’histoire de l’anticipation politique, de nombreux entretiens avec Franck Biancheri, la lecture attentive du GlobalEurope Anticipation  Bulletin, ainsi qu’une série de séminaires de réflexion sur la formalisation d’une méthode d’anticipation fondent cette rédaction.

À propos Marie Hélène

LEAP, Membre de la WFSF

Les Réseaux Franck Biancheri