Home / Home / Accueil / 2016-2020 – Birth of global governance alongside the emergence of a new currency: new SDR paves the way to Globalisation and impacts the American dollar (Excerpt GEAB September 2016)

2016-2020 – Birth of global governance alongside the emergence of a new currency: new SDR paves the way to Globalisation and impacts the American dollar (Excerpt GEAB September 2016)

The world has been seeking a substitute for its reliance on the dollar since 2008. The dependency has been so strong, that it has taken almost a decade for a solution to be drafted. Strangely, this solution came from an institution perceived by some as obsolete, until China took the trouble to bring it back in from the cold. After long delays over the fate of the international monetary system, it is ultimately an old tool created by a Washington institution (the one tool which looks the most like a global currency, by the way), which will cure the sclerosis of this dollar-based world, so long analysed in these pages. We are bringing to your attention the IMF’s Special Drawing Rights (SDRs), which now have the potential to rebuild the international monetary system, and even have far greater implications in the reconfiguration of our multipolar world.

The GEAB, LEAP’s confidential letter is a monthly bulletin available under subscription. Its contents are not made available to the public until three months later. We offer you the access to this exclusive article from September’s bulletin (GEAB n°107). If you want to read our articles in real time, subscribe to the GEAB!

The SDRs: From a Tool of Western Domination to a Global Currency

When a basket of currencies contains only the dollar, the euro, the pound and the yen, it can hardly reflect the global economy of the twenty-first century. Yet, it is precisely with this basket that the IMF still claimed to be international. SDRs were created in 1969 and were supposed to stabilise the international monetary system by serving as a reserve “currency” in addition to the dollar and gold (which were unable to meet global demand), allowing monetary exchanges between different countries[1]. In 1971, the collapse of the Bretton Woods system occurred, and the SDRs never really played the central role for which they were designed. However, by including only Western currencies, they have become incompatible with the global economic realities of the 21st century.

But after intense negotiations and despite the prolonged stalemate induced by the United States[2], China has finally succeeded in adding the yuan to the SDR basket of currencies; just as we predicted. On October 1st, the SDRs will therefore consist of five currencies, with the proportions highlighted in the following chart.

 graph 1

Figure 1 – SDRs proportions, 2010 and 2016. Source: LEAP according to the IMF.

 It is worth spending a few moments on this chart. The dollar is obviously still overrepresented and its proportion has barely changed. The yuan has dropped in to the detriment of the three other currencies; especially the euro[3], whose overall share has reduced from 37.4% to 30.93%. Europe has once again had to be the one to compromise. If the weakness of the European leadership can at least serve the peaceful transition to a multipolar world, this reduction in the European proportion would not be in vain. We can imagine the compromise behind the scenes, where it was politically impossible to hit the dollar in an institution located in Washington; needless to say that it happened at a moment when the Eurozone and the UK were not in a position of strength. The Chinese, as usual, show their diplomatic strength. They know now that they have one foot in the door, so the adjustment will occur naturally: ultimately, the currency basket cannot reflect anything else than the economic power of the currencies. Thus, common sense will be enough to impose a new gradual distribution of currencies, more in line with the evolving global reality.

In order to stir-up interest, a revival of these not-quite-used SDRs was compulsory. Having the yuan incorporate an international monetary tool is certainly a good thing, but it would be even better if this tool had real weight in the global economy. The timing clearly highlights the Chinese strategy: less than a year after the yuan is officially proposed for the SDRs basket (right before the G20 summit, and more or less at the time of the actual entry of the yuan in the currency basket[4]), the first bond denominated in SDRs[5] is, surprisingly, issued in Shanghai[6]. Naturally, the operation (the first of a planned series) was a real success. Besides offering more colour to the SDRs, these bonds serve a second purpose: by forcing creditors to accept the yuan in their portfolio, the credibility and the internationalisation of the yuan grows (which is a further main point on the monetary Chinese strategy plan[7]). Although the total amount of 2 billion SDRs planned for this bond issue may seem small, it must be compared to the 204 billion SDRs issued since the IMF was created[8] (183b of which were in 2009 alone). The trial run represents about 1% of all issued SDRs ever … At this rate, we can expect a rapid revival of this monetary tool.

From a G20 to a Real World Governance

The IMF is not the only one gaining momentum under this Chinese surge. Knowing how frightening a vivid demonstration of Chinese power would be to the world (which is the last thing China really wants), China strives to become integrated into existing “international” governance tools. These tools are adapted by this country to the nascent world, and then they become truly global. For example, the World Bank which is behind the SDRs bond issue is legitimising an operation clearly perceived as an attack against the supremacy of the dollar[9]. Thus, this Washington-based institution has visibly chosen its camp.

The same goes for the G20. Even though it might seem an imperfect mirror of the world, by integrating others, most notably the BRICS and other emerging countries, it has become more representative than many other Western world bodies. Also, the press releases are no longer dictated by the United States alone. During the Summit of Hangzhou, it was decided to increase the importance and use of the SDRs worldwide[10] (which would obviously have an impact on the dollar). Further to what we said earlier about the bond issue, we can speak loud of the emergence of a new currency, the SDR (called “Global” by the GEAB as early as 2009), which will make its first real steps by 2020. The usual criticism on a possible inflation risk[11], coming mostly from Germany, the next host of the G20 summit, will not be credible enough in the current deflationary Western context. Therefore, the solution offered by the SDRs is likely to become sustainable.

In Hangzhou, investments in infrastructure and innovation were also seen as main topics thanks to a revival of public expenditures, and also the moderation of monetary quantitative easing policies. Thus, more money will be poured into the real economy and not just into the financial world. The famous sentence “monetary policy alone cannot lead to balanced growth” is nothing but a setback for the Western central banks.

graph2

Figure 2 – Missing infrastructure investment, by region. Horizon: 2030. Source: CAPE.

In short, the agenda of the BRICS is making slow but sure steps in the framework of this respected global body. A sort of global governance was born during the last G20 Summit with its “ministries” coming from revitalised old institutions: The World Bank, the IMF and perhaps also the UN … This transformation of these old institutions allows China and the BRICS to expand their interests, while Europe manages to free itself from the US yoke without any direct confrontation. Moreover, no particular waves would be provoked at a global level. And, above all, this would nourish the peaceful transition towards a multipolar world. We judge that this is one of the reasons (besides excessive world quantitative easing operations) why stock markets are disconnected from the real economy: the financial markets are nothing more than a casino, while the real solutions are elsewhere, for example on the side of the “new Silk Road” or of the Asian Investment Bank for Infrastructure (AIIB). By the end of 2016, the latter will most probably have succeeded to rally a hundred countries [12](!).

 graph3

Figure 3 – In blue, the current 57 members of the AIIB. Source: Wikipedia.

Regional Groupings, a Perspective View

Despite the difficulties of the Eurozone and the un-weaving of the European Union following Brexit, we anticipate, paradoxically, a strengthening of the regional groupings, in particular monetarily. Indeed, if SDRs become a global reference currency, countries will want to be part of them so as to be able to weight a little. But how to be part of this monetary basket? The only solution is to have a sufficiently powerful currency. So, unless your name is China (or soon, India), you need to seriously consider joining a group. This is why this topic is recurrent on the table for ASEAN, Africa and MERCOSUR[13], and has been discussed for a while within the Gulf Cooperation Council[14]. Recent developments in the SDRs field will greatly hasten any negotiations. The very survival of the BRICS might by the way depend on the integration of their currencies (or their future monetary union currency) in the SDRs basket.

There is a second reason why we anticipate these regional groupings will form: not all world currencies will be included in this reference basket. The G20 countries who run our “global governance” must acquire as much legitimacy as possible, and represent their entire region. Thus, blocks will occur (the process is already well on the way). They will be organised around major countries which are highly represented in global institutions.

In this reorganisation of the world, Europe will have a say, if only by its unique integration experience (future monetary unions and regional groupings will be able to learn from European mistakes, but also from its successes; something we should not be afraid to highlight).

Thus we see the impact, one that is relatively slow but deep, of the implementation of the SDRs. The dollar, exhausted by its disproportionately high responsibilities, will be replaced as the world reference currency. Global financial stability will increase. The world will become organised into regional groupings in preparation for emerging multipolarity.

[1]     The SDRs are not an actual currency. To know more, please read: IMF, 06/04/2016.

[2]     Their failure to prevent the inevitable (while they had a veto right within the IMF) is one of the relevant signals of their decreasing influence … or the efficiency of Obama’s administration to start the mutation of the country.

[3]     The pound, however, sees its contribution decrease by 28%; more than the Euro, which reports a decrease of 17%

[4]     Only on October 1st will the Chinese Renminbi be integrated into the IMF’s reserve currency basket. Source: Bloomberg, 05/03/2016

[5]     To be more specific, it is not the IMF’s SDRs which are used here (since they are not used by private investors), but a financial vehicle imitating the SDRs.

[6]     Source: Reuters, 31/08/2016

[7]     Source: Nikkei Asian Review, 02/08/2016

[8]     Source: IMF

[9]     Source: South China Morning Post, 01/09/2016

[10]    Source: G20, 06/09/2016. «Following the IMF’s decision, we welcome the inclusion of the RMB into the Special Drawing Right (SDR) currency basket on October 1st. We support the ongoing examination of the broader use of the SDR, such as broader reporting in the SDR and the issuance of SDR-denominated bonds, as a way to enhance resilience. In this context, we take note of the recent issuance of SDR bonds by the World Bank in China’s interbank market. We welcome further work by the international organizations to support the development of local currency bond markets, including intensifying efforts to support low-income countries. »

[11]    Read for instance CATO, 05/04/2009

[12]    Source: China Daily, 31/05/2016

[13]    Sources: IDE (2002), Stanford (2004), Université d’Amsterdam (2011), IMF (2010), BNDES (1999), MJB (2010)

[14]    Source: RedFame, 27/11/2015

About Marie Hélène

Accueil / Accueil / Home / Monnaie mondiale 2016-2020, les prémices d’une gouvernance mondiale : les DTS ouvrent la voie au « global » (Extrait GEAB Septembre 2016)
monnaie

Monnaie mondiale 2016-2020, les prémices d’une gouvernance mondiale : les DTS ouvrent la voie au « global » (Extrait GEAB Septembre 2016)

Depuis 2008 le monde cherche un substitut à sa dépendance au dollar. L’intoxication était si forte qu’il aura fallu près d’une décennie pour qu’une ébauche de solution se mette en place. Étrangement, cette solution provient d’une institution qu’on pouvait penser obsolète, jusqu’à ce que la Chine prenne la peine de la remettre en selle : après de longs atermoiements sur le sort du système monétaire international, c’est finalement un vieil outil existant, celui ressemblant d’ailleurs le plus à une monnaie mondiale, une émanation d’une institution de Washington, qui fait office de remède à la sclérose du monde dollar que nous analysons depuis longtemps dans ces pages. Ce sont en effet les droits de tirage spéciaux (DTS) du FMI qui ont maintenant le potentiel de reconstruire le système monétaire international, et même d’avoir des implications bien plus grandes dans la reconfiguration du monde multipolaire.

Le GEAB, la lettre confidentielle du LEAP, est un bulletin mensuel accessible par abonnement et dont les contenus sont soumis à une clause de confidentialité de 3 mois. Nous vous offrons l’accès en exclusivité à cet article issu du bulletin de Septembre 2016 (GEAB n°107). Pour lire ce type d’article en temps réel abonnez-vous au GEAB!

Les DTS : d’un outil de domination occidentale à une monnaie mondiale

Quand un panier de monnaies ne contient que le dollar, l’euro, la livre et le yen, il ne peut guère refléter l’économie mondiale du XXIème siècle. C’est pourtant avec ce panier que le Fonds monétaire prétendait encore être international. Les DTS ainsi conçus étaient censés stabiliser le système monétaire international en servant de « monnaie » de réserve venant (à l’époque de leur création en 1969) en complément du dollar et de l’or, incapables de répondre à la demande mondiale, et permettant des compensations entre pays[1]. Avec l’effondrement en 1971 du système issu de Bretton Woods, ils n’ont cependant jamais pu jouer le rôle central auquel ils étaient promis. Néanmoins, en n’incluant que des monnaies occidentales, ils étaient clairement devenus incompatibles avec les réalités économiques globales du XXIème siècle.

Or, après d’intenses tractations (que nos lecteurs connaissent), et malgré le blocage prolongé des États-Unis[2], la Chine a enfin réussi à ajouter le yuan au panier de monnaies des DTS, comme nous l’avions anticipé. Au 1er octobre, ceux-ci seront donc constitués de cinq monnaies, dans les proportions données au graphique suivant.

 graph 1

Figure 1 – Constitution des DTS en pour-cents, 2010 et 2016. Source : LEAP d’après FMI.

Il est intéressant de s’arrêter quelques instants sur cette répartition. Le dollar est évidemment toujours surreprésenté et sa proportion n’a pratiquement pas changé. Le yuan s’est donc glissé dans le panier au détriment des trois autres monnaies, et surtout de l’euro[3] dont la part passe de 37,4 % à 30,93 %. L’Europe a donc été une nouvelle fois la variable d’ajustement (si la faiblesse du leadership européen peut au moins servir la transition pacifique vers le monde multipolaire, cet effacement européen n’aura pas été vain). On imagine les compromis en coulisses, où il était politiquement impossible de toucher au dollar dans l’institution de Washington, alors que la zone euro et le Royaume-Uni n’étaient pas en position de force. Les Chinois ont, comme d’habitude, fait preuve de réalisme. Ils savent que, maintenant qu’ils ont le pied dans la porte, l’ajustement se fera naturellement : à terme, il n’est en effet pas envisageable que le panier reflète autre chose que la puissance économique réelle des monnaies concernées. Il suffira donc de plaider le bon sens pour imposer peu à peu une nouvelle répartition plus conforme aux réalités globales en mutation.

Mais encore fallait-il ranimer ces DTS quelque peu inusités pour que cette opération ait un quelconque intérêt : que le yuan intègre un outil monétaire international est certes une bonne chose, mais c’est encore mieux si cet outil a un poids réel dans l’économie ou la finance mondiale. Ici, le calendrier met clairement en lumière la stratégie chinoise. Moins d’un an après l’acceptation officielle du yuan dans les DTS, juste avant le sommet du G20 et plus ou moins au moment de l’entrée effective du yuan dans le panier monétaire[4], la première obligation libellée en DTS[5] est émise à Shanghai[6]… L’opération, la première d’une série planifiée, a été un succès. Outre le fait de redonner des couleurs aux DTS, ces obligations remplissent un second objectif : en obligeant les créanciers à accepter une part de yuan dans leur portefeuille, ils aident à la crédibilité et à l’internationalisation du yuan, autre front du grand chantier monétaire chinois[7]. Même si la somme totale de 2 milliards de DTS prévue pour cette émission d’obligations peut sembler faible, il faut la comparer aux 204 petits milliards de DTS émis depuis la création du FMI[8] (dont 183 pour la seule année 2009). Le galop d’essai représente donc environ 1 % de tous les DTS jamais émis… À ce rythme, on peut en effet parler d’une réanimation expresse de cet outil monétaire.

Du G20 à une vraie gouvernance mondiale

Ce n’est pas seulement le FMI qui trouve un nouveau souffle sous impulsion chinoise. Sachant qu’une démonstration trop vive de sa puissance effrayerait le monde entier, ce qui est la dernière chose qu’elle souhaite, la Chine tente en effet de s’intégrer dans les outils existants de gouvernance « internationale », en les adaptant au monde naissant, c’est-à-dire en les rendant vraiment mondiaux. Ainsi par exemple de la Banque mondiale qui est derrière l’émission des obligations SDR, légitimant une opération clairement perçue comme une attaque contre la suprématie du dollar[9]. L’institution de Washington a donc choisi son camp…

Ainsi aussi du G20. Même s’il est un miroir imparfait du monde, il a le mérite, en intégrant notamment les BRICS et d’autres pays émergents, d’être plus représentatif que bien d’autres instances reflétant l’Occident. Et en effet, les communiqués ne sont désormais plus dictés par les seuls États-Unis. Lors du sommet de Hangzhou a ainsi été prise la décision d’une utilisation accrue des DTS au niveau mondial[10] (au détriment du dollar, forcément) ce qui, juste après l’émission qu’on a vue, positionne les DTS comme les prémisses d’une monnaie mondiale[11] – nommons-la le « global » comme le GEAB l’avait appelé de ses vœux en 2009 – qui fera ses vrais premiers pas d’ici 2020. Car les critiques habituelles de risque d’inflation[12], venues en particulier des Allemands qui dirigeront le prochain sommet du G20, ne seront pas crédibles dans le contexte occidental actuel déflationniste, et cette solution a donc toutes les chances de devenir pérenne.

À Hangzhou, l’accent a également été mis sur l’investissement dans les infrastructures et l’innovation grâce à une relance de la dépense publique, et sur la modération des politiques d’assouplissement monétaire, afin que l’argent coule dorénavant dans l’économie réelle et non plus dans le seul monde financier (la seule phrase du communiqué « monetary policy alone cannot lead to balanced growth » est d’ailleurs un camouflet pour les banques centrales occidentales).

 graph2

Figure 2 – Investissements manquants dans les infrastructures, par région, d’ici 2030. Source : CAPE.

Bref, dans une enceinte tout à fait respectée au niveau mondial, l’agenda des BRICS avance petit à petit. Une sorte de gouvernance mondiale a commencé à devenir perceptible lors du dernier G20, avec comme « ministères » les grandes instances internationales du XXème siècle, ainsi revitalisées : Banque mondiale FMI, ONU peut-être, etc. Cette transformation de l’intérieur des anciennes institutions permet à la Chine et aux BRICS de faire progresser leurs intérêts et à l’Europe de se libérer du joug des États-Unis sans les affronter directement, tout cela sans aucune vague au niveau mondial. Et surtout elle permet de gérer la mutation tranquille vers le monde multipolaire. Selon notre équipe, c’est d’ailleurs une des raisons, outre évidemment les quantitative easings mondiaux démesurés, pour lesquelles les bourses sont si déconnectées de l’économie réelle : les marchés financiers ne sont plus qu’un casino alors que les vraies solutions sont ailleurs, par exemple du côté la « nouvelle route de la soie » et de la Banque asiatique d’investissement pour les infrastructures (AIIB) qui réussira d’ici fin 2016 à rallier déjà une centaine de pays[13] (!).

graph3

Figure 3 – En bleu, les 57 membres actuels de l’AIIB. Source : Wikipédia.

Regroupements régionaux en perspective

Malgré les déboires de la zone euro et le dé-tricotage de l’Union européenne suite au Brexit, notre équipe anticipe paradoxalement un renforcement des regroupements régionaux, et en particulier des unions monétaires. En effet, si les DTS deviennent une monnaie mondiale de référence, alors pour participer à la marche du monde il faudra être dedans. Or, comment faire partie de ce panier monétaire ? Une seule solution : avoir une monnaie suffisamment puissante. Donc, à part si on s’appelle la Chine (ou bientôt l’Inde), il faut se regrouper. C’est ainsi que le sujet revient régulièrement sur la table pour l’ASEAN, l’Afrique, le Mercosur[14], et qu’il est bien avancé pour le Conseil de coopération du Golfe[15]. Nul doute que les récents développements sur les DTS que nous analysons ici vont considérablement hâter les négociations. En fait, la survie des BRICS tiendra peut-être à l’intégration de leurs monnaies (ou des monnaies de leurs futures unions monétaires) dans le panier de référence de la future monnaie mondiale.

Une autre raison nous fait anticiper ces regroupements régionaux. Toutes les monnaies du monde ne pourront être incluses dans ce panier de référence. Or les pays du G20 siégeant à la nouvelle « gouvernance mondiale » doivent, pour asseoir leur légitimité, représenter chacun l’ensemble de sa région. Ainsi vont se constituer (le processus est déjà largement enclenché, d’ailleurs) des blocs autour des pays majeurs représentés au sein des institutions mondiales.

Dans cette réorganisation du monde, l’Europe aura bel et bien son mot à dire, ne serait-ce que par son expérience unique de tels regroupements (les plus critiques diraient : par son contre-exemple ; disons plutôt que les futures unions monétaires et regroupements régionaux apprendront des erreurs européennes, évidemment, mais aussi des succès, n’ayons pas peur de le dire).

On voit ainsi l’impact, relativement lent mais profond, de cette mise en avant des DTS : remplacement d’un dollar depuis longtemps épuisé par ses responsabilités disproportionnées, stabilité financière mondiale accrue, mais aussi réorganisation du monde vers des regroupements régionaux constituant les blocs du monde multipolaire en construction.

[1]     Les DTS ne sont pas à proprement parler une monnaie. Pour en savoir plus : FMI, 06/04/2016.

[2]     Au passage, leur échec à empêcher l’inévitable alors qu’ils ont un droit de veto au FMI est, nous l’avons déjà analysé, un des signes flagrants de leur perte de pouvoir… ou de l’efficacité du gouvernement Obama à avoir initié une mutation salutaire du pays.

[3]     En termes relatifs, toutefois, la livre sterling voit sa part baisser de 28 %, bien davantage que l’euro pour lequel la baisse s’élève à 17 %…

[4]     Ce n’est que le 1er octobre que le Renminbi sera effectivement intégré au panier de monnaies de réserve du FMI. Source : Bloomberg, 05/03/2016

[5]     Pour être tout à fait précis, ce ne sont pas réellement les DTS du FMI qui sont utilisés ici (puisque ceux-ci ne sont pas utilisés par des investisseurs privés), mais un véhicule financier répliquant les DTS.

[6]     Source : Reuters, 31/08/2016.

[7]     Source : Nikkei Asian Review, 02/08/2016.

[8]     Source : FMI.

[9]     Source : South China Morning Post, 01/09/2016.

[10]   Source : G20, 06/09/2016. «Following the IMF’s decision, we welcome the inclusion of the RMB into the Special Drawing Right (SDR) currency basket on October 1st. We support the ongoing examination of the broader use of the SDR, such as broader reporting in the SDR and the issuance of SDR-denominated bonds, as a way to enhance resilience. In this context, we take note of the recent issuance of SDR bonds by the World Bank in China’s interbank market. We welcome further work by the international organizations to support the development of local currency bond markets, including intensifying efforts to support low-income countries. »

[11]   Source : « This is the first step toward one world currency », Epoch Times, 15/08/2016.

[12]   Lire par exemple CATO, 05/04/2009.

[13]   Source : China Daily, 31/05/2016.

[14]   Sources : IDE (2002), Stanford (2004), Université d’Amsterdam (2011), FMI (2010), BNDES (1999), MJB (2010), etc.

[15]   Source : RedFame, 27/11/2015.

 

À propos Marie Hélène

LEAP, Membre de la WFSF

Les Réseaux Franck Biancheri