Home / Home / Accueil / The euro, a “vector” currency in a multi-monetary system, by Pierre Calame*

The euro, a “vector” currency in a multi-monetary system, by Pierre Calame*

Selected pieces of “Euroland at a crossroads“: Excerpt from Pierre Calame’s book “Petit Traité d’Œconomie” published in April 2018 by Éditions Charles Léopold Mayer – ECLM

“Until the mid-XVIIIth century, one spoke of eoconomy instead of economy: from oïkos (home) an nomos (law). The oeconomy refered to the wise government of the home serving the family’s common good. This translates in the XXIst century into: “the wise government of the planet serving the humanity’s common good”. The oeconomy thus turns into a branch of governance.”

The design of money creates a “monetary veil” as source of ignorance

For the Single European Market, there is a European currency. For the global market, there is a single currency the dollar or, gradually, a basket containing of the US dollar, the euro and the Chinese yuan. In the world, this currency also serves as a unique standard for measuring value. We must talk about “monetary veil” as we would talk about a ‘legal veil’: On the scale of a territory, for example, the organisation of all transactions in euros makes it impossible to know what are the components, in work and in materials, of the product that one buys. To know what comes from local work, that the purchase would stimulate, and what comes from the other end of the world.

The uniqueness of money has another even more serious consequence. In a historical period where the use of creativity and human labour must be developed (as guarantors of social cohesion and progress in society) and instead must save fossil fuels or natural resources.  Paying for both with the same currency makes it impossible to distinguish between these two factors of production. The current monetary system is a vehicle whose sole pedal serves as both the brake and the accelerator; surely the best way to end up in the ditch! The uniqueness of money postulates the equivalence of everything to everything. This suggestion is nowadays quite dangerous.

Currencies must be multiple

The idea of ​​a single currency issued by the sovereign and ensuring all exchanges in the nation is contemporary with royal absolutism. In the Middle Ages, not only the great lords were minting money but also the abbeys, especially to facilitate local trade. It is even said that it was the royal monopoly in the creation of money that caused an economic crisis in France at the end of the Middle Ages; due to its scarcity of circulation. Currency has also imposed the idea of ​​commensurability of raw materials, human labour, and energy.  This is not self-evident and has today, as has been shown with the monetary veil, many disadvantages. The evolution of new technology – especially in computers and the internet – has already revolutionised currency. As bitcoin or other local digital currencies have illustrated, it is possible to create a new transaction recording system, and thus a currency, at will.

Already undermined by the fact that our money is essentially created by banks, the idea of ​​a monopoly of issuance of money by the state simply vanishes. Less so, the loyalty card of a supermarket chain or an airline also creates a new currency in the form of loyalty points. Cash registers remotely registering with the bar code the characteristics of the goods purchased make it quite possible to debit several different currencies; this is also the case when the loyalty points are deducted from final expenses.

Therefore, we can ask which are the currencies best adapted to oeconomy. We have two needs, already long exposed:

• To convey different levels of exchange, and in particular to stimulate exchanges at the level of a territory; to ensure the participation of all in the life of the city and promote the movement towards a functional economy.

• To distinguish between local work, outside work and non-renewable natural resources.

Hence we have two ways of differentiating currencies: The creation of local and regional currencies or the creation of currencies, two or more, each corresponding to one or more factors of production that must be differentiated. Let us insist on the fact that the set can easily be found on the same digital medium, which makes me speak of a “vector currency”. Such a product or service is characterised by a multi dimensional vector.

In the case of Europe, the euro retains its value by making trade more fluid and eliminating currency risks, but with the added freedom of creating local or regional currencies to simulate local exchanges.

I have not used the word “decay” so often associated in the literature with the idea of ​​sustainable societies. Indeed, for as long as we do not have a plurality of currencies, the term only serves to maintain confusion. Oeconomy wants to ensure the well-being of all in respect to the biosphere. From then on, will there be growth or decline… of what exactly? Human work, whether salaried or voluntary, remains a foundation of our relationship with each other and the social fabric. And well-being does not have to be limited by a fixed ceiling. As we have seen, it does not depend on the growth of consumption of material goods once a certain number of basic needs are met. What needs to be drastically reduced is the removal of resources from the biosphere. Today’s natural cycles must be closed. However, the use of the same accounting unit and the same means of payment for elements, some of which must be developed and others spared is absurd, as is the absurd monetary veil that conceals the metabolisms of territories and sectors. The use of different accounting units and means of payment is, therefore, necessary.

Pierre Calame, Polytechnician, former high official of the French Ministry of Equipment, Honorary President of the Council of the Charles Léopold Mayer Foundation for Human Progress.

About Marie Hélène

Accueil / Accueil / Home / L’euro, monnaie « vectorielle » dans un système multimonétaire, par Pierre Calame*
calame

L’euro, monnaie « vectorielle » dans un système multimonétaire, par Pierre Calame*

Morceaux choisis de « L’Euroland dans tous ses états« : Extrait de l’ouvrage de Pierre Calame « Petit traité d’œconomie » paru en avril 2018 aux Éditions Charles Léopold Mayer (ECLM)

« Jusqu’au milieu du 18ème siècle on parlait d’oeconomie et non d’économie : de oïkos (maison) et nomos (loi). L’oeconomie désignait le sage gouvernement de la maison pour le bien commun de la famille. Entendons au 21ème siècle : « le sage gouvernement de la planète au service du bien commun de l’humanité ». L’oeconomie est donc une branche de la gouvernance. »

La conception de la monnaie crée un « voile monétaire » source d’ignorance

À marché unique européen, monnaie européenne. À marché mondial, une monnaie unique, le dollar ou, progressivement, un panier composé du dollar américain, de l’euro et du yuan chinois. Unique à l’échelle du monde, la monnaie sert aussi d’étalon unique de mesure de la valeur. Il faut parler de « voile monétaire » comme on parle du voile juridique : à l’échelle d’un territoire, par exemple, l’organisation de l’ensemble des transactions en euro met dans l’impossibilité de savoir quelles sont les composantes, en travail et en matière, du produit que l’on achète, de savoir ce qui est issu du travail local, que l’achat stimulerait, et ce qui vient de l’autre extrémité du monde.

L’unicité de la monnaie a une autre conséquence, plus grave encore. Dans une période historique où il faut développer le recours à la créativité et au travail humain, garants de la cohésion sociale et du progrès de la société, et au contraire épargner l’énergie fossile ou les ressources naturelles, le fait de payer les deux avec une même monnaie rend impossible de distinguer ces deux facteurs de production. Le système monétaire actuel est un véhicule dont la pédale unique sert à la fois le frein et l’accélérateur : la meilleure manière d’aller au fossé. L’unicité de la monnaie postule l’équivalence de tout avec tout. Ce postulat est maintenant dangereux.

Les monnaies doivent être multiples

L’idée d’une monnaie unique émise par le souverain et assurant tous les échanges sur le territoire national est contemporaine de l’absolutisme royal. Au Moyen-Âge, non seulement les grands seigneurs battaient monnaie mais aussi les abbayes, notamment pour faciliter les échanges locaux. On dit même que c’est le monopole royal d’émission de la monnaie qui en France, à la fin du Moyen-Âge, a provoqué une crise économique en raréfiant les espèces de circulation. La monnaie, au passage, a imposé l’idée de commensurabilité des matières premières, du travail humain, de l’énergie, ce qui ne va pas de soi et comporte aujourd’hui, comme on l’a montré avec le voile monétaire, de nombreux inconvénients.

L’évolution des techniques –  en particulier l’informatique et internet –  a déjà révolutionné la monnaie. On peut, comme l’illustrent le bitcoin ou les monnaies numériques locales, créer à loisir de nouveaux systèmes d’enregistrement de transactions, donc une monnaie. Déjà mise à mal par le fait que la monnaie est essentiellement créée par les banques, l’idée d’un monopole d’émission de la monnaie par l’État s’évanouit. La moindre carte de fidélité d’une chaîne de supermarché ou d’une compagnie aérienne crée une nouvelle monnaie sous forme de points de fidélité. Les caisses enregistrant à distance par le code barre les caractéristiques des biens achetés rendent tout à fait possible de débiter plusieurs monnaies différentes ; c’est d’ailleurs le cas quand les points de fidélité viennent en déduction de la dépense finale.

Dès lors, nous pouvons nous demander quelles sont les monnaies adaptées à l’œconomie. Nous avons deux besoins, déjà longuement exposés :

  • articuler différents niveaux d’échange et en particulier stimuler les échanges au niveau d’un territoire pour assurer la participation de tous à la vie de la cité, accompagner le mouvement vers une économie de la fonctionnalité ;
  • distinguer dans la consommation le travail local, le travail extérieur et les ressources naturelles non renouvelables.

D’où les deux modes de différenciation des monnaies : la création de monnaies locales et régionales ; la création de monnaies, deux ou plusieurs, correspondant chacune à un des facteurs de production qu’il faut différencier. Insistons sur le fait que l’ensemble peut sans difficulté se retrouver sur un même support numérique, ce qui me fait parler d’une « monnaie vectorielle » : un produit ou service se caractérise par un vecteur à plusieurs dimensions.

Dans le cas de l’Europe, l’euro garde toute sa valeur en fluidifiant les échanges et supprimant les risques de change, mais à condition de s’accompagner d’une grande liberté de création de monnaies locales ou régionales pour simuler les échanges locaux.

Je n’ai pas jusqu’à présent utilisé le mot « décroissance » si souvent associé dans la littérature avec l’idée de sociétés durables. En effet, tant qu’on ne dispose pas d’une pluralité de monnaies, le terme ne fait qu’entretenir la confusion. L’œconomie veut assurer le bien être de tous dans le respect de la biosphère. Dès lors, croissance ou décroissance de quoi ? Le travail humain demeure, qu’il soit salarié ou bénévole, un fondement de la relation aux autres et du tissu social. Et le bien-être n’a pas à se voir fixer de plafond. Comme nous l’avons vu, il ne dépend pas de la croissance de consommation de biens matériels une fois un certain nombre de besoins de base satisfaits. Ce qu’il faut par contre limiter de façon drastique, c’est la mobilisation de ressources tirées de la biosphère. Les cycles naturels aujourd’hui ouverts doivent se refermer. Or, l’utilisation d’une même unité de compte et d’un même moyen de paiement pour des éléments, dont les uns doivent être développés les autres épargnés, est absurde de même qu’est absurde le voile monétaire qui dissimule les métabolismes des territoires et des filières. Le recours à des unités de compte et des moyens de paiement différents s’impose.

Pierre Calame, Polytechnicien, ancien haut fonctionnaire du Ministère français de l’Équipement, Président honoraire du Conseil de la Fondation Charles Léopold Mayer pour le Progrès de l’Homme.

À propos Marie Hélène

LEAP, Membre de la WFSF

Les Réseaux Franck Biancheri