Home / Home / Accueil / The military or Erdogan, again (Excerpt GEAB October 2015)
Erdogan_0

The military or Erdogan, again (Excerpt GEAB October 2015)

This article was published by our team in October 2015, in a very specific context: the Russian crisis was not solved yet, Syrian trap, Erdogan having political difficulties etc. We can verify today the precision of this anticipation, and more precisely of the possibility of a “coup d’etat”.

The other possible scenario, little mentioned in the daily press would be that Erdogan wins his bet of regaining his parliamentary majority and/or managing to form a coalition which doesn’t neutralize all power to act, and retakes control on the implementation of his policies.

The other parties are very far behind Erdogan’s AKP. The Kemalist part of the CHP has polled 25%; the Europeans’ new darling, the very sympathetic, pro-Kurd, moderate HDP or Syriza Turkish party, only 13%; followed by the ultranationalist and very fascist MHP. Remember that the AKP’s “defeat” in the last Parliamentary elections was with 40% of the votes!

geab 98

Figure 2 –Polling results for the Turkish November election. Source : James in Turkey.

Therefore, there is no question the 1st of November of seeing a real alternative to Erdogan emerging, but really of knowing if the current leader has regained control for implementing his policies or if there will be renewed government paralysis whilst the country sinks into chaos, requiring army intervention.

The GEAB, LEAP’s confidential letter is a monthly bulletin available under subscription. Its contents are not made available to the public until three months later. We offer you the access to this exclusive article from October 2015 bulletin (GEAB n°98). If you want to read our articles in real time, subscribe to the GEAB!

But assuming that Erdogan manages to regain control, what will be his policies? The indications that he has already given, clearly indicate a return to the policy of independence, which he inaugurated in 2003:

. distancing from the US: relations with the US became strained when the latter parachuted heavy weapons to the anti-Bashar rebels, among which there were pro-PKK troops of the PYD[1], as part of their proxy war against Russia[2];

.  rebalancing in Russia’s favour which he visited recently, and opening up to Iran[3];

. an easing of the policy towards Bashar: Erdogan recently declared himself in favour of the establishment of an interim Syrian government including Bashar el-Assad[4] as long as that doesn’t act as a legitimization of the Syrian regime[5].

This last condition is important, because it makes Turkey the guarantor of the compromise between the Russian and American positions: that the cooperation with Bashar el-Assad proposed by Russia to restore peace in Syria and in the region (henceforth the primary objective for the Europeans who want nothing more than the flux of refugees to stop) doesn’t signify the preservation of Bashar el-Assad at the head of the Syrian regime.

All this evokes a scenario quite similar to that which we have mentioned, today taken up by Trend magazine, which has inked a courageous article on the inevitability of a Turkish-Russian-Iranian alliance[6].

With all that, it’s not surprising that the NATO boss, Stollenberg, has redoubled massaging Turkey with promises of military support in case of a conflict with Russia[7], promises which are certainly addressed to the Turkish military apparatus rather than Erdogan, hinting more or less at a preliminary coup d’état.

The scenario of a strengthening of Erdogan’s position at the head of the Turkish government doesn’t seem the most likely in the current explosion of combat zones. In what conditions will the election take place? Will it occur at all? Currently, anything is possible.

But the balance of forces in the region has changed dramatically in one month with Russia’s entry into the game, and with Europe’s turnaround on the objective of Bashar el-Assad’s elimination, as a priority in terms of the management of the Syrian crisis. Moreover, it’s interesting to note that Merkel and Erdogan both expressed their change of course on this subject the same day[8].

In any case, it’s to be understood that the Turkish elections on 1st of November are to be followed really carefully. A return to order will follow, but it could be wearing a very different face.


[1] Source : Hürriyet, 14/10/2015

[2] Source : New York Times, 12/10/2015

[3] Source : Today’s Zaman, 12/10/2015

[4] Source : Aranews, 25/09/2015

[5] This condition can, of course, be considered hypocritical; but it could also be considered as the guarantee Europe needs to accept.

[6] Source : Trend, 14/10/2015

[7] Source : Reuters, 12/10/2015

[8] Source : Al-Arabiya, 24/10/2015

About Marie Hélène

LEAP, Member of WFSF

Franck Biancheri Networks

Accueil / Accueil / Home / Les militaires ou Erdogan, again (Extrait GEAB Octobre 2015)
Erdogan_0

Les militaires ou Erdogan, again (Extrait GEAB Octobre 2015)

Cet article a été publié en Octobre 2015 par notre équipe dans un contexte bien particulier: Erdogan en grande difficulté politique, piège syrien, crise avec la Russie encore non résolue etc. Nous vérifions donc aujourd’hui la précision de l’anticipation de la suite des événements, et plus particulièrement du risque de Coup d’Etat.

L’autre scenario possible, bien que peu évoqué dans la presse courante, serait qu’Erdogan gagne son pari de retrouver sa majorité parlementaire et/ou parvienne à former une coalition qui ne neutralise pas tout pouvoir d’action, et reprenne la main sur la mise en œuvre de sa politique.

Les autres partis sont très loin derrière l’AKP d’Erdogan. Le CHP, parti kémaliste, est à 25% ; le nouveau chouchou des Européens, le très sympathique parti pro-kurde modéré HDP ou Syriza turc, n’est qu’à 13% ; suivi de l’ultra-nationaliste et très fascisant CHP. Rappelons que la « défaite » de l’AKP aux dernières législatives consistait en un score de 40% !

geab 98

Figure 2 – Sondages pour l’élection turque de novembre. Source : James in Turkey.

Il n’est donc pas question le 1er novembre de voir émerger une vraie alternative à Erdogan mais bien de savoir si le dirigeant actuel aura la main pour mettre en œuvre sa politique ou si la paralysie du gouvernement sera reconduite alors que le pays sombre dans le chaos, nécessitant l’intervention de l’armée.

Le GEAB, la lettre confidentielle du LEAP, est un bulletin mensuel accessible par abonnement et dont les contenus sont soumis à une clause de confidentialité de 3 mois. Nous vous offrons l’accès en exclusivité à cet article issu du bulletin d’octobre 2015 (GEAB n°98). Pour lire ce type d’article en temps réel abonnez-vous au GEAB!

Dans l’hypothèse où Erdogan parvienne à reprendre la main, quelle politique mènera-t-il ? Les aperçus qu’il en a déjà donnés indiquent clairement un retour à la politique d’indépendance qu’il avait inaugurée en 2003 :

. distanciation des US : les relations avec les Américains se tendent lorsque ces derniers parachutent des armes lourdes aux rebelles anti-Bachar, parmi lesquels les troupes pro-PKK du PYD[1], dans  le cadre de leur guerre-proxy contre la Russie[2] ;

. rééquilibrage au profit de la Russie à laquelle il rend visite récemment et  ouverture à l’Iran[3] ;

. assouplissement vis-à-vis de la politique de Bachar : Erdogan s’est récemment déclaré en faveur de la mise en place d’un gouvernement intérimaire syrien comprenant Bachar el-Assad[4] du moment que cela n’acte pas d’une légitimation du régime syrien[5].

Cette dernière condition est importante car elle ferait de la Turquie le garant du compromis entre les positions russe et américaine : que la coopération avec Bachar el-Assad proposée par la Russie afin de ramener le calme en Syrie et dans la région (objectif désormais prioritaire pour les Européens qui ne souhaitent plus que l’arrêt des flux de réfugiés) ne signifie pas le maintien de Bachar el-Assad à la tête du régime syrien.

Le tout évoque un scenario assez proche de celui que nous avions suggéré, aujourd’hui repris par le magazine Trend qui signe un article courageux sur l’inévitabilité d’une alliance Turquie-Russie-Iran[6].

Avec tout cela, il n’est pas étonnant que le patron de l’OTAN, Stollenberg, redouble de caresses en direction de la Turquie avec des promesses de soutien militaire en cas de conflit avec  la Russie[7], promesses qui s’adressent certainement à l’appareil militaire turc plutôt qu’à Erdogan, sous-entendant plus ou moins un coup d’État préalable. Le scenario d’un raffermissement de la position d’Erdogan à la tête du gouvernement turc ne nous paraît pas le plus probable dans le déchaînement actuel des fronts conflictuels. Dans quelles conditions se passera l’élection ? Aura-t-elle lieu tout simplement ? Actuellement, tout devient possible. Mais l’équilibre de forces dans la région a considérablement changé en un mois avec l’entrée de la Russie dans le jeu, et avec le revirement de l’Europe sur l’objectif d’élimination de Bachar el-Assad comme priorité en matière de gestion de la crise syrienne. Il est d’ailleurs intéressant de remarquer que Merkel et Erdogan ont tous deux exprimé leur changement de cap sur ce thème le même jour[8].

On l’aura compris en tous cas : l’élection turque du 1er novembre est à suivre vraiment attentivement. Un retour à l’ordre s’ensuivra mais il peut revêtir des visages bien différents.


[1]     Source : Hürriyet, 14/10/2015

[2]     Source : New York Times, 12/10/2015

[3]     Source : Today’s Zaman, 12/10/2015

[4]     Source : Aranews, 25/09/2015

[5]     Cette condition peut bien entendu être jugée hypocrite ; mais elle peut aussi être considérée comme la garantie dont l’Europe a besoin pour accepter l

[6]     Source : Trend, 14/10/2015

[7]     Source : Reuters, 12/10/2015

[8]     Source : Al-Arabiya, 24/10/2015

À propos Marie Hélène

LEAP, Membre de la WFSF

Les Réseaux Franck Biancheri