Home / Home / Accueil / Information/invitation – First Euroland Governance 2020 seminar: Toward a political and democratic union of the Euroland
Logo_euroland

Information/invitation – First Euroland Governance 2020 seminar: Toward a political and democratic union of the Euroland

The Euro crisis, and more recently the Ukrainian crisis, made it clear that we are facing a severe political vacuum with regard to the European construction. ECB bankers and civil servants from the European Commission and the Member States handled the crisis. From a technical point of view, their work prevented the Euro from collapsing. However, when it comes to the decision-making process, the lack of democratic articulation of the whole process has weakened the whole European structure: rising eurosceptism, anti-austerity protests, accusations of “non-constitutionality” of the Euroland decisions, parliamentary inquiries on the Troïka’s decision-making process…The Euro Crisis turns out to be less a governance crisis than a legitimacy crisis, in other words a democratic crisis.”

 

It belongs to the « Eurolanders » (via their members and representatives) to invent the solutions likely to ensure that Euroland, this new « sovereign » born from a common currency and its adolescent crisis, completes the promise made by Europe’s founding fathers: a political union endowed with political institutions elected by all Europeans.

In order to generate a discussion on this subject and sketch the outlines of a founding act for the Euroland, we are delighted to inform you that a seminar on:

“Euroland Governance 2020 – Towards a political and democratic union of the euro zone”

will be held in Brussels, on Friday, January 9th, 2015.

 

Sub-themes:

•    Why is Euroland critical for the future of the European project?

•    Providing Euroland with the world’s most modern supra-national institutional system: national-supranational articulation, flexibility and adaptability, network and coordination

•    Turning Euroland into History’s first democratic supra-national entity: building Euroland’s institutional system starting from its democratic rooting

•    Towards a trans-Euroland Manifesto for a political and democratic union of Euroland

(in camera debates, moderated by Marie-Hélène Caillol and Harald Greib, held in English and French not transtlated)

The conclusions of the seminar contributions and discussions will provide the basis for a “European Manifesto for the Creation of a Political and Democratic Union of Euroland”, which will be circulated among member-states’ governments of the Euro zone, as well as members of European and National Parliaments of the Euro zone.

For information or subscription to this event, please contact Sophie Berger (Euroland2020 project manager) by e-mail: sophie.berger@leap2020.eu

 

About Marie Hélène

LEAP, Member of WFSF

Franck Biancheri Networks

Accueil / Accueil / Home / Information/invitation – Premier séminaire Euroland Gouvernance 2020 : Vers une union politique et démocratique d’Euroland

Information/invitation – Premier séminaire Euroland Gouvernance 2020 : Vers une union politique et démocratique d’Euroland

« La crise de l’Euro, et plus récemment la crise ukrainienne, a révélé un vide politique majeur de la construction européenne. Les banquiers de la BCE et les fonctionnaires de la Commission européenne et des Etats-Membres ont géré bon an mal cette crise. Techniquement, leur travail a évité à l’Euro de s’effondrer, ce qui est une belle réussite. Mais l’inarticulation démocratique des décisions qui ont dû être prises n’en finit pas de fragiliser l’ensemble de l’édifice européen: euroscepticisme croissant, manifestations anti-austérité, accusations d’ « inconstitutionnalité » des décisions prises par l’Euroland, enquêtes parlementaires sur les processus décisionnels de la Troïka,… La crise de l’Euro est finalement moins une crise de gouvernance qu’une crise de légitimité, une crise démocratique donc.»

Il appartient donc aux « Eurolandais » (via leurs membres et leurs représentants) de réfléchir aux solutions appropriées pour assurer que l’Euroland, ce nouveau souverain né d’une monnaie commune et de sa crise d’adolescence, parachève la promesse des pères fondateurs : une union politique pourvue des institutions politiques décisionnelles élues par tous les Européens.

Afin d’initier une discussion autour de ce sujet et parvenir à esquisser les grandes lignes d’un acte fondateur de l’Euroland, un séminaire sur le thème de :

 

«L’Euroland Gouvernance 2020 – Vers une union politique et démocratique de la zone euro»

se tiendra à Bruxelles, le vendredi 9 janvier 2015.

Sous-thèmes :

•  En quoi l’Euroland est clé pour l’avenir du projet européen?
•  Doter l’Euroland du système institutionnel supra-national le plus moderne au monde : articulation national-supranational, souplesse et adaptabilité, réseau et coordination
•  Faire de l’Euroland le premier exemple d’entité supra-nationale démocratique : faire de l’ancrage démocratique de l’Euroland le point de départ de l’édifice institutionnel
•  Vers un Manifeste trans-Euroland pour une union politique et démocratique de l’Euroland

 

(débats à huis clos modérés par Marie-Hélène Caillol et Harald Greib, en français/anglais non traduit)


Les conclusions des présentations et débats formeront la base d’un manifeste européen pour la création d’une union politique et démocratique d’Euroland qui sera transmis aux gouvernements des Etats-membres de la zone euro, de tous les parlementaires européens et nationaux des Etats membres de la zone euro et les institutions européennes.

Pour toute demande d’information/d’inscription relative à cet évènement, merci de bien vouloir contacter Sophie Berger (coordinatrice du projet Euroland 2020).  E-mail : sophie.berger@leap2020.eu

À propos Marie Hélène