Home / Home / Accueil / Franck Biancheri Network and the ICAN network: one more attempt to enforce positive (and democratic) change in European governance
logo ican

Franck Biancheri Network and the ICAN network: one more attempt to enforce positive (and democratic) change in European governance

On Januray 8th in Berlin, Marie-Hélène Caillol our President, took part in a small meeting which resulted in the launching of a new initiative: ICAN, where CAN stands for Change Agent Network.

If you want to take part in our initiative you can already join us in Paris on March 11th (17h-21h30) for a brainstorming session and a cocktail at Becoworking, 60 Rue de la Jonquière, 75017 Paris. More information and registration here!

In the framework of the launching of our project : « Initiative for a citizens-based trans-european election », the brainstorming which will follow our general Assembly will be opened to anyone who would be interested in participating and will provide a fertile ground for us to think about the type of election we want to present in April-May in Louvain La Neuve.

“Most Citizens of Europe do not want the EU to carry on with “business as usual” as its leaders seem determined to offer. But nor do they want the national(ist) solutions being pedalled by many political forces.  Rather they want democratic change, where a new approach is taken to engage citizens, and give them the prospect of a better future. So now, more than ever, those experienced in and able to make the difference need to stand up and present their ideas.”

One week later, a launch meeting took place in Brussels which gathered 30 people from different networks and organisations. Next was Berlin again, Paris… In March, events are already planned in Bordeaux, Warsaw, Copenhagen, etc… A closed facebook group already gathers some 500 members (only 6 weeks after Berlin). The momentum is amazing.

The bet we made in March 2015 that the crisis provided a potential for converging interests among different types of agents (institutional, political, media, citizen, business,…) is taking shape.

However we believe that the window of opportunity will be short – six months – during which we will be able to join forces; after that, we anticipate that most of the political, economic and institutional establishment will start surrendering to what Franck Biancheri’s heirs call the “national-europeists”.

During this period of time, the Franck Biancheri Network will dedicate effort and money to contribute to the success of ICAN in triggering positive and highly visible change. In particular we articulate ICAN with our Open Letter-related project “Initiative for a citizen trans-European election”.

What is ICAN?

Create a Change Agents Network!

Rationale

Europe – not just the EU – is in crisis. In some countries, extremists challenge not just membership of the Euro/EU (which are legitimate questions for public debate), but also pillars of (national) democracy, notably a free press, independent judiciary and right of democratic opposition.  This up-rising builds on sentiments, that a much wider cross-section of the public agrees with to some extent.

Notably the institutions that have for so long structured our lives (EU, national governments, media, churches, trade unions…) often appear out of touch in a time of rapid technological change, and seem unable to adapt to a far more educated society with higher expectations. In the face of this challenge, mainstream politicians have frozen, seemingly determined to clutch at the status quo. Citizens from all walks of life feel lost and grow angry in the face of this.

Hence a need to harness the many talents and ideas that sit ready and available with individuals, initiatives, and institutes. Right now there is a short window of opportunity now for citizens to reclaim Europe, to place their voice to where it belongs: the centre of the European project.

Join us!

Hence, if you have been or want to become a change agent either working in civil society, or in an institution, company or other organisation, join us to:

  • Create a network across Europe of people who are working on own initiatives either at the level of civil society or within their organisations to make Europe a better and more democratic place;
  • Gather and spread what other change agents are already doing, so as to encourage yet more people to join in;
  • Give visibility to the vast number of initiatives that already exist, but which (unlike the populists) are not as visible;

Encourage use of new instruments that allow citizens to gain a more direct buy-in and influence over the direction Europe is taking.

About Marie Hélène

LEAP, Member of WFSF

Franck Biancheri Networks

Accueil / Accueil / Home / Franck Biancheri Network et le réseau ICAN: Tenter d’imposer un changement positif (et démocratique) au sein de la gouvernance Européenne
logo ican

Franck Biancheri Network et le réseau ICAN: Tenter d’imposer un changement positif (et démocratique) au sein de la gouvernance Européenne

Le 8 janvier dernier à Berlin, Marie-Hélène Caillol notre présidente a participé à un meeting qui a conduit les participants à créer une nouvelle initiative: ICAN, CAN signifiant Change Agent Network.

Si vous souhaitez contribuer à ce projet vous êtes cordialement invité à nous rejoindre à Paris le 11 mars prochain (17h-21h30) pour un brainstorming et un cocktail au Becoworking, 60 Rue de la Jonquière, 75017 Paris. Plus d’infos et inscription ici!

Dans le cadre du lancement de notre projet « Initiative pour une une élection Trans-européenne des citoyens », le brainstorming qui suivra notre Assemblée Générale sera ouvert à toute personne souhaitant participer à notre réflexion sur le type d’élection que nous voulons présenter en Mars-Avril à Louvain La Neuve.

« La plupart des citoyens européens ne veut plus que l’UE continue comme si de rien n’était comme ses dirigeants semblent vouloir le faire. Mais ils ne veulent pas non plus des solutions national(ist)es proposées par différentes forces politiques. Au lieu de cela, ils souhaitent un changement démocratique, permettant d’engager les citoyens et leur donnant la perspective d’un meilleur avenir. Plus que jamais, ceux qui ont une expérience et sont capable de faire ce genre de différence doivent se regrouper et faire connaître leurs idées.« 

Une semaine plus tard, un meeting de lancement du projet a eu lieu à Bruxelles, rassemblant une trentaine de personnes, provenant de différents réseaux et organisations. Puis Berlin de nouveau, Paris… En Mars, des réunions sont déjà prévues à Bordeaux, Varsovie, Copenhague, etc… Un groupe facebook privé rassemble déjà plus de 500 membres (seulement 6 semaines après la 1ère réunion à Berlin). C’est maintenant ou jamais!

Le pari que nous avions fait en Mars 2015 qui consistait à dire que la crise fournirait un fort potentiel de rassemblement de différents agents du changement (institutionnel, politique, média, citoyen, business…) se met en place.

Cependant cette fenêtre d’opportunités sera courte -six mois- il nous faut donc unir nos forces. Après cela nous anticipons que la plupart de l’establishment politique, économique et institutionnel cèdera la place à ce que les héritiers de Franck Biancheri appellent les « Européistes-Nationaux ».

C’est pendant cette courte période que le réseau Franck Biancheri consacrera ses efforts et une partie de son budget à contribuer au succès d’ICAN et de ses objectifs de changement, en associant par-exemple notre projet « Lettre ouverte » au projet « Initiative pour une élection Trans-européenne des citoyens ».

ICAN c’est quoi?

Créez un Change Agents Network!

Concept

L’Europe – pas seulement l’UE – est en crise. Dans certains pays, les extrémistes remettent en question non seulement l’adhésion à l’Euro/UE (une question légitime pour un débat public) mais aussi les piliers de nos démocraties (nationales), en particulier les principes de liberté de la presse, d’indépendance de la justice et de droit à l’opposition démocratique. Ce soulèvement se fonde sur des sentiments en partie partagés par une vaste part des opinions publiques.

Les institutions qui structurent depuis longtemps nos vies (UE, gouvernements nationaux, media, églises, syndicats…) semblent souvent déconnectées en cette époque de changement technologique rapide, et incapables de s’adapter à une société très éduquée et dotée d’attentes supérieures. Face à ce défi, les dirigeants politiques sont paralysés, apparemment déterminés à s’en tenir au statu quo. La colère monte parmi les citoyens de tous bords qui se sentent perdus.

Il est temps d’exploiter les talents et idées qui fourmillent parmi de nombreux Individus, Initiatives, Instituts… Les citoyens bénéficient actuellement d’une brève fenêtre d’opportunité pour revendiquer l’Europe et positionner leur voix à la place qui lui revient : au coeur du projet européen.

Rejoignez-nous!

Si vous êtes, avez été ou souhaitez devenir un Acteur du Changement par votre participation active à la société civile ou à une institution, une entreprise ou tout autre organisation, rejoignez-nous pour:

  • Créer un réseau européen de personnes travaillant dans le cadre de la société civile ou au sein de leurs organisations sur des initiatives originales destinées à faire de l’Europe un continent meilleur et plus démocratique;
  • Réunir et diffuser de l’information sur ce que les autres Acteurs de Changement font déjà afin d’inciter encore plus de monde à nous rejoindre;
  • Rendre plus visibles les nombreuses initiatives qui existent déjà mais qui (contrairement à celles des populistes) sont peu connues;

Encourager l’usage de nouveaux outils donnant aux citoyens plus d’influence sur les directions prises par l’Europe.

À propos Marie Hélène

LEAP, Membre de la WFSF

Les Réseaux Franck Biancheri