Home / Home / Accueil / End of the US government control of ICANN: Towards the privatisation of internet control agencies (Excerpt GEAB October 2016)
icann-gouvernance-internet

End of the US government control of ICANN: Towards the privatisation of internet control agencies (Excerpt GEAB October 2016)

Both in the United States and around the world, this news has been making some noise: since October the 1st, the internet is finally “free from US tutelage.” Is it, indeed? It is true that a decisive step has just been reached, since the ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers), a central internet entity, as we shall see, is no longer directly controlled by the US. The Obama administration (with some relative unpreparedness, by the way) has finally accepted the international emancipation of ICANN. Should this be the fundamental brick in building a multipolar world, or some additional technocratisation of digital freedom? In this respect, it is interesting to compare the reactions of the media from both sides of the Atlantic: on the US side, Obama is accused of abandoning the internet to the hands of dictatorships[1], whilst on the European side, the media almost unanimously hails the change (“ICANN finally sets free from the US[2]“; “The US has finally released the Internet![3]“)…

To a certain extent, this change might look like a small revolution, one of the many symptoms of the US’ loss of influence and the transformation of the world into a multipolar one. This change can even be seen as a trial run for the US handover of power across all areas. Is this finally good news? Well, it all depends on who will take over that power…

The GEAB, LEAP’s confidential letter is a monthly bulletin available under subscription. Its contents are not made available to the public until three months later. We offer you the access to this exclusive article from October’s bulletin (GEAB n°108). If you want to read our articles in real time, subscribe to the GEAB!

What is ICANN?

Note that it is at least an exaggeration to say that the internet was under American tutelage. Yes, the Internet is the playground of the NSA, but this is also the case for other intelligence agencies; Yes, the vast majority of very large internet companies are American (and this is probably by far the most important reason to consider when wondering why the internet is under American influence – we shall get back to this); Yes, the majority of internet content is in English[4].

graph1

Figure 1 – The main languages of the most visited 10 million websites. Source: W3Techs.

But there is no American “internet police”. Anyone can publish content without asking permission from the United States. Internet servers are far from being located all in America, and US law is applied only to the companies located in the US; while US internet users represent less than 9% of the total number of Internet users…

graph2

Figure 2 – The quota of internet users in the world by regions. Source: Internet world stats.

Above all, the aforementioned affirmations are not undermined by the change occurred on the 1st of October. The ICANN is a non-profit US organisation founded in 1998 in Los Angeles which maintains multiple databases and servers managing internet addresses (particularly IP addresses and DNS). This role of managing internet addresses (called the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority, IANA) was given to it by a contract from the US Department of Commerce which has always been renewed since 1998, until the end of September 2016. ICANN is responsible for accounting and naming (almost) the entire internet[5], but it delegates to other national or private organisations the domains that concern them (e.g., addresses in .fr are issued by French AFNIC, although the “final stamp” belongs to the ICANN[6]).

So yes, now that ICANN is no longer under a contract with the US government, it no longer has a direct say in the management of internet addresses. One can well imagine the pressures on the ICANN before, when the renewal of contract had to be done… This will happen much less, of course.

More of a symbol than a revolution  

The fact remains that ICANN is a US organisation, subject to the US law. In practice, the change will be barely visible. But the symbol is important: The United States, under pressure from the international community after the Snowden case (this is what precipitated the change, as it was planned since the establishment of the ICANN…), and weakened by their loss of leadership also, had to give up “controlling” the internet just as they have had to slowly give up “controlling” the world. Also, an aberration disappears, namely that within a global Internet, one government could dictate its terms to the entire world. Of course, as one can expect, the issue had become more political than technical. Republican senators have done everything to prevent the US losing control of the internet through ICANN. Cruz, but also recently Trump, criticised Obama’s decision[7]. A decision also likely precipitated (besides the Snowden affair) by the approach of the presidential election and the possible victory of Trump: indeed, ICANN should have been independent since its inception, but this status change had been stuck until recently.

The fact that the reform was strongly pushed by the US web giants[8] reveals the reality of the business world’s perception: an Internet too visibly under American influence is now considered bad for business…

Embryo of a private global governance

Thus, this reform marks an important step in the un-Americanisation of the world. But much more than internationalisation, it is in fact a privatisation of the management of internet domains[9]. Many countries demanded that the mission be entrusted to the United Nations[10]; not only this did not happen, but quite the contrary occurred. Though most countries are represented within ICANN and are entitled to propose changes, this is done through unanimous agreement (which never happens). Furthermore, the power of large Internet companies[11] in this complex organisation will be enormous[12], which currently amounts to ensure American control beyond any democratic control. The US government had a certain democratic legitimacy at least (and, in the case of the internet, a relative benevolence); but this does not apply obviously to large private companies. And that’s the problem (occurring also for future global governance): by wishing to quickly release from American tutelage, there is an enormous risk that democracy will change for technocracy or, worse perhaps, to outright privatisation.

If getting an international tool (such as the internet) out of national control looks like good news, it is in fact worrying to imagine that a political tool (i.e. the Internet) is detached from any democratic control. The failure of the invention of supranational democracies is a real boon for multinational private economic interests.

[1]     For instance: « The Obama administrations internet policy could suppress freedom and make America vulnerable » (source : « Obama gives away US control of the internet », The Ledger, 06/10/2016)

[2]     Source: Journal du Geek, 03/10/2016

[3]     Source: Huffington Post, 03/10/2016

[4]     This is actually only partially true: read Quartz, « English is no longer the language of the web », 20/06/2013

[5]     China, in particular, does not use the same domain naming system, to avoid any US tutelage and facilitate its censorship ever since 2006… Source: Le Monde, 19/02/2010

[6]     Source: Le Monde, 30/09/2016

[7]     Source: NPR, 26/09/2016

[8]     Source: Reuters, 13/09/2016

[9]     This article presents the panorama: Le Monde, 24/03/2016. « It is privatisation of the ICANN, but not internationalisation». Read also Wired, 03/10/2016

[10]   Source: BBC, 18/08/2016

[11]   Google and Amazon are on top. They have obviously made intense lobbying to have more weight in the ICANN.

[12]   About ICANN, read Le Monde, 30/09/2016: « [The reform] will create a complex system, which will have to prove its strengths. The technical tasks will be grouped in one department while power will be distributed among 3 instances: an executive administration council, a panel of independent judges in charge of litigations and of reframing the association in case wrong paths were taken, and a general assembly containing five committees who would support all internet actors – meaning 160 national governments, associations issued from civil society, national and regional organisms of management of web domains, and the IT companies. Note that the latter committee would be dominated by the giants of Silicon Valley and US law firms. Loyal to the founding principles of the internet, decision making will be based on consensus, moderated by a mechanism of a super-majority to avoid endless blockages. »

About Marie Hélène

LEAP, Member of WFSF

Franck Biancheri Networks

Accueil / Accueil / Home / Fin de la tutelle du gouvernement US sur l’ICANN : vers une privatisation des instances de contrôle d’Internet (Extrait GEAB Octobre 2016)
icann-gouvernance-internet

Fin de la tutelle du gouvernement US sur l’ICANN : vers une privatisation des instances de contrôle d’Internet (Extrait GEAB Octobre 2016)

Tant aux États-Unis qu’ailleurs dans le monde, la nouvelle a tout de même fait du bruit : depuis le 1er octobre, Internet serait enfin « débarrassé de la tutelle américaine ». Vraiment ? Il est vrai qu’une étape décisive vient d’être franchie, puisque l’ICANN, une instance centrale d’Internet comme nous allons le voir, n’est plus directement contrôlée par les États-Unis : le gouvernement Obama (dans une relative impréparation d’ailleurs) a enfin accepté l’émancipation internationale de l’ICANN. Brique fondamentale dans la construction d’un monde multipolaire, ou technocratisation supplémentaire d’un pan de la liberté numérique ? À cet égard, il est intéressant de comparer les réactions des médias de part et d’autre de l’Atlantique : côté américain, Obama est accusé d’abandonner Internet et de le laisser aux mains de dictatures[1], tandis que du côté européen, les médias sont presque unanimes pour saluer le changement (« L’ICANN s’émancipe enfin des États-Unis[2] », « Les USA ont enfin lâché l’Internet[3] ! », etc.).

En un certain sens, ce changement peut en effet être assimilé à une petite révolution, à l’un des nombreux symptômes de la perte d’influence des États-Unis et de la transformation multipolaire du monde. Ce changement peut même être considéré comme un galop d’essai de la passation de pouvoir US dans tous les domaines. Bonne nouvelle, alors ? Tout dépend de qui reprendra ce pouvoir…

Le GEAB, la lettre confidentielle du LEAP, est un bulletin mensuel accessible par abonnement et dont les contenus sont soumis à une clause de confidentialité de 3 mois. Nous vous offrons l’accès en exclusivité à cet article issu du bulletin d’Octobre 2016 (GEAB n°108). Pour lire ce type d’article en temps réel abonnez-vous au GEAB!

L’ICANN, quèsaco ?

Remarquons d’abord qu’il est pour le moins exagéré de considérer qu’Internet était sous tutelle américaine. Oui, Internet est le terrain de jeu de la NSA, mais les autres agences de renseignement ne sont pas en reste ; oui, l’immense majorité des très grandes entreprises d’Internet sont américaines (et c’est sans doute, de loin, la plus importante raison de considérer qu’Internet est sous influence américaine – nous y reviendrons) ; oui, la majorité du contenu sur Internet est en anglais[4].

 graph1

Figure 1 – Principales langues des 10 millions de sites les plus populaires. Source : W3Techs.

 Mais il n’y a pas de « police » du web américaine, chacun peut publier son contenu sans demander l’autorisation des États-Unis, les serveurs mondiaux sont loin d’être tous situés en Amérique, la loi américaine ne vaut que pour les entreprises de ce pays, les internautes américains représentent moins de 9 % du total des internautes, etc.

graph2

Figure 2 – Pourcentage des internautes par région. Source : Internet world stats.

 Surtout, rien de ce qui précède n’est remis en cause par le changement intervenu au 1er octobre dont nous parlions. L’Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) est une organisation américaine à but non lucratif créée en 1998 à Los Angeles qui maintient plusieurs bases de données et serveurs permettant de gérer les adresses internet (en particulier adresses IP et DNS). Ce rôle de gestion des adresses internet (appelé Internet Assigned Numbers Authority, IANA) lui était dévolu par un contrat du département du Commerce américain qui a toujours été renouvelé depuis 1998, et ce jusqu’à fin septembre 2016. L’ICANN est responsable de l’adressage de (presque) tout Internet[5], mais elle délègue à d’autres organisations nationales ou privées les adresses qui les concernent (par exemple les adresses en ‘.fr’ sont délivrées par l’AFNIC, bien que le « coup de tampon » final soit celui de l’ICANN[6]).

Alors oui, maintenant que l’ICANN n’est plus sous contrat avec le gouvernement américain, celui-ci n’a plus directement son mot à dire dans la gestion des adresses internet. On imagine bien les pressions que l’ICANN pouvait subir quand son contrat pouvait n’être pas renouvelé… Ce sera effectivement moins le cas.

Un symbole plus qu’une révolution

Il n’en reste pas moins que l’ICANN est une organisation américaine, soumise à la loi américaine. En pratique, le changement ne sera guère visible. Mais c’est le symbole qui est important : les États-Unis, sous la pression de la communauté internationale après l’affaire Snowden (c’est ce qui a précipité le changement, alors que celui-ci était prévu depuis la création de l’ICANN…), et affaiblis par leur perte de leadership aussi, ont dû renoncer à « contrôler » Internet comme ils doivent progressivement renoncer à « contrôler » le monde. Et c’est aussi une aberration qui disparaît, à savoir qu’au sujet d’un Internet global, un unique gouvernement pouvait dicter ses conditions au reste du monde.

Évidemment, on imagine bien que la question était devenue plus politique que technique. Des sénateurs républicains ont tout fait pour éviter que les États-Unis lâchent l’ICANN. Cruz, puis récemment Trump, ont également critiqué la décision d’Obama[7]. Une décision sans doute d’ailleurs précipitée (outre par l’affaire Snowden, comme nous l’avons déjà mentionné) par l’approche de l’élection présidentielle et l’éventualité d’une victoire de Trump : en effet, l’ICANN doit devenir indépendante depuis sa création, mais le dossier n’avait guère avancé jusqu’à récemment.

Le fait que la réforme ait été fortement poussée par les géants américains du web[8] est révélateur de la réalité du monde que perçoit bien le business : avoir un Internet trop visiblement sous influence américaine est dorénavant jugé néfaste pour les affaires…

Embryon de gouvernance mondiale… privée

Cette réforme marque donc bel et bien une étape dans la désaméricanisation du monde. Mais, bien plus qu’une internationalisation, il s’agit en réalité d’une privatisation de la gestion des adresses internet[9]. De nombreux pays réclamaient que cette mission soit confiée à l’ONU[10] ; il n’en est rien, bien au contraire : si la plupart des pays sont certes représentés au sein de l’ICANN, il n’ont force de proposition qu’à l’unanimité (autant dire jamais), et le pouvoir des grandes entreprises d’Internet[11] au sein de l’organisation complexe de l’institution sera démesuré[12], ce qui revient actuellement à assurer une mainmise américaine hors de tout contrôle démocratique. Le gouvernement américain avait au moins, lui, une certaine légitimité démocratique (ainsi que, dans le cas d’Internet, une relative bienveillance) ; il n’en est évidemment rien pour les grandes compagnies privées. Et c’est bien le problème, celui qui se posera également pour toute future gouvernance mondiale : en voulant trop vite se libérer de la tutelle américaine, le risque est grand de renoncer à la démocratie pour la technocratie ou, pire peut-être, pour une privatisation pure et simple.

S’il apparaît au premier abord comme une bonne nouvelle qu’un outil international comme Internet sorte d’un contrôle national, il est en deuxième analyse inquiétant qu’un outil politique comme Internet sorte de tout contrôle démocratique. L’échec de l’invention de démocraties supranationales est une véritable aubaine pour les intérêts économiques privés multinationaux.

[1]     Par exemple : « The Obama administration’s internet policy could suppress freedom, make America vulnerable ». Source : « Obama gives away US control of the internet », The Ledger, 06/10/2016

[2]     Source : Journal du Geek, 03/10/2016

[3]     Source : Huffington Post, 03/10/2016

[4]     Propos à nuancer toutefois : lire Quartz, « English is no longer the language of the web », 20/06/2013

[5]     À noter que la Chine, en particulier, n’utilise pas le même système d’adressage, pour éviter toute ingérence américaine et faciliter sa censure, et ce depuis 2006… Source : Le Monde, 19/02/2010

[6]     Source : Le Monde, 30/09/2016

[7]     Source : NPR, 26/09/2016

[8]     Source : Reuters, 13/09/2016

[9]     Cet article résume bien la situation : Le Monde, 24/03/2016. « On est dans la privatisation de l’Icann, pas dans son internationalisation. » Lire aussi Wired, 03/10/2016

[10]    Source : BBC, 18/08/2016

[11]    Google et Amazon en tête, qui ont évidemment fait un lobbying intense pour avoir plus de poids dans le nouvel ICANN.

[12]    Sur l’organisation de l’ICANN, lire Le Monde, 30/09/2016 : « [La réforme] instaurera un système complexe, qui devra faire ses preuves. Les tâches techniques seront regroupées au sein d’une filiale et le pouvoir sera réparti entre trois instances : un conseil d’administration exécutif, un panel de juges indépendants chargés de traiter les litiges et de recadrer l’association si elle venait à sortir de son rôle, et une assemblée générale composée de cinq collèges censés représenter tous les acteurs de l’Internet – soit 160 gouvernements nationaux, des associations issues de la société civile, les organismes nationaux et régionaux de gestion des adresses Web, et les entreprises du secteur. À noter que ce dernier collège resterait dominé par les géants de la Silicon Valley et des cabinets juridiques américains. Fidèles aux principes fondateurs de l’Internet, les prises de décision seront fondées sur le consensus, tempéré par un mécanisme de super-majorité pour éviter les blocages indéfinis. »

À propos Marie Hélène

LEAP, Membre de la WFSF

Les Réseaux Franck Biancheri