Home / Home / Accueil / EUROLAND GOVERNANCE 2020 / 1st session: Toward a political and democratic union of the Euroland
Logo_euroland

EUROLAND GOVERNANCE 2020 / 1st session: Toward a political and democratic union of the Euroland

Brussels (Aloft Brussels Schuman hotel), January 9th, 2015

Organized by Laboratoire Européen d’Anticipation Politique (LEAP/E2020)

in partnership with Association des Amis de Franck Biancheri (AAFB)

 

Programme: Friday, January 9th, 2014 – 8.00-13.00

In camera” debates moderated by Marie-Hélène Caillol and Harald Greib

Work session performed in French and English, without translation

 

8.00-8.30          Participants arrival

8.30-9.00          Introduction by Harald Greib, Vice-President LEAP/E2020

Presentation of participants

9.00-9.30        Why is Euroland critical for the future of the European project?              Introduction by Mr Jakob von Weizsäcker, Member of European Parliament (ECON Committee)

Debate

9.30-10.30      Providing Euroland with the world’s most modern supra-national institutional system: national-supranational articulation, flexibility and adaptability, network and coordination

Introduction by Marie-Hélène Caillol, President LEAP/E2020

Multilingualism and Euroland governance, by Michel Soubies, former European Commission official, Founder of GEM+ (Gouvernance Multilingue Européenne)

Debate

10.30-10.45      Coffee break

10.45-11.45    Turning Euroland into History’s first democratic supra-national entity: building Euroland’s institutional system starting from its democratic rooting

Introduction by Mr Thomas Wieser, President of the Euro Working Group of the Euro Area, Economic and Financial Committee, European Union

Trans-national lists for a trans-Euroland democracy, by Antonio Buendía, Cilus

Debate

11.45-12.45    Towards a trans-Euroland Manifesto for a political and democratic union of Euroland

Introduction by Jose-Maria Compagni Morales, Newropeans Club

Debate

12.45-13.00      Conclusions / Next steps

13.00-14.00      Buffet

 

List of confirmed participants 

Thomas Wieser, Président, Groupe de travail EuroGroupe

Jakob von Weizsäcker, Député européen

Michel Soubies, Représentant de l’AFFOI

Stelios Christopoulos, Ancien fonctionnaire de la Commission européenne

Edouard Husson, Historian

Luis Alvarado, Vice-président, Youth Forum

Marie-Hélène Caillol, Présidente LEAP

José Maria Compagni, Newropeans Club

Pedro Simoes, PES

Sophie Berger, LEAP

Léa Charlet, Friends of Franck Biancheri

Sylvain Périfel, LEAP

Philippe Mendil, Cardsoff / France-Soir

Harald Greib, Vice-Président LEAP

Loé Lagrange, Nouvelle Donne, France

Antonio Buendía, Cilus, Spain

Pierre-Marie Pagès, Anticipolis

Tasos Nychas, free-lance collaborator of EIB, former senior officer at DG Environment

Maria João Rodrigues, MEP

Christel Hahn, Newropeans Club

 

Rationale

The Euro crisis, and more recently the Ukrainian crisis, made it clear that we are facing a severe political vacuum with regard to the European construction. ECB bankers and civil servants from the European Commission and the Member States handled the crisis. From a technical point of view, their work prevented the Euro from collapsing. However, when it comes to the decision-making process, the lack of democratic articulation of the whole process has weakened the whole European structure: rising eurosceptism, anti-austerity protests, accusations of “non-constitutionality” of the Euroland decisions, parliamentary inquiries on the Troïka’s decision-making process…

The Euro Crisis turns out to be less a governance crisis than a legitimacy crisis, in other words a democratic crisis

It belongs to the « Eurolanders » (via their members and representatives) to invent the solutions likely to ensure that Euroland, this new « sovereign » born from a common currency and its adolescent crisis, completes the promise made by Europe’s founding fathers: a political union endowed with political institutions elected by all Europeans.

One aim of this seminar is to sketch the outlines of a founding act for the Euroland, defining its competences and its democratically legitimate decision-making institutions, as well a roadmap for the creation of a political and democratic union of Euroland.

We fully intend to incorporate our discussions and conclusions in a final document in the form of a “Trans-European Manifesto for a Political and Democratic Union of the Euroland”

Forerunners of such manifesto already exist, for example: the Manifesto for a Political Union of the Euro signed by eminent personalities, among whom was Thomas Piketty, ​​famous due to the enthusiastic reception of his book “The Capital in the 21st Century“; or the proposal for a Political Community of the Euro, conducted by the Eiffel Group; or else the document encore le document Towards a Euro Union by Glienicker Gruppe. Yet, unfortunately, all of these manifestos are national initiatives.

Indeed, the political Europe, under its current EU form, was created by nation states. But today, Europe is real enough – due to its institutions, elections, exchange programs such as ERASMUS, and common currency – to be based on a trans-European approach where women and men coming from all member states of the Euro zone gather and reflect together on the Europe we want for ourselves and for our children.

Thus, the Euroland will resume with a long tradition as regards the European integration: progressing thanks to a group of “pioneers” who will draw a new path that others will be invited to take if they wish to.

The seminar is primarily intended for all citizens of Euroland eager to finalize the European integration process, initiated by the founding fathers and reconnecting with the original principles (peace, independence, prosperity, democracy …).

It is especially intended for players of the European civil society, politicians driven by a certain vision of Europe, economists specialized in the Euro zone, members of the European and National Parliaments, as well as senior officials of the member states and Euro zone governments and European institutions, all concerned about the challenge of democratizing the integration process.

Objectives

The conclusions of the seminar contributions and discussions will provide the basis for a “European Manifesto for the Creation of a Political and Democratic Union of Euroland”, which will be circulated among member-states’ governments of the Euro zone, as well as members of European and National Parliaments of the Euro zone.

It will be published in mainstream newspapers of the Euro zone member states in order to launch a trans-European political debate with a view to the editing of a Euroland constitution, to be submitted in a referendum to all Euro zone member states’ citizens.

Conceptual legacy

Already in 2006, within the first GEAB issue (Global Europe Anticipation Bulletin)[1], Franck Biancheri, our deeply bemoaned Director of Research and Strategy, wrote: “The euro zone political leaders will have to face a simple imperative: regain control of the “Euro project”, of which the current Euroland is only a first, totally unfinished, step; or else pay the price of a double electoral abandonment coming from the economic integration follow up and the exclusive business management by central bankers. ”

He recommended regaining political control by establishing two key instruments to handle (in part) the events:

. a light institution, but very visible and legitimate politically speaking, of the Euroland’s economic control” (the Euroland’s Secretariat), totally different from the community institutions allowed to define economic, industrial and social answers to the common negative effects of the crisis.

. Euroland Summits, as legitimate democratic political authority gathered on a regular basis (every 4 months), in order to orientate, drive, reensure, and be able to react on rather short notice.

Since 8-9 May, 2010, the Euroland`s summits are part of the European political reality[2].

Already in May, 2010, just days after the first historic Euroland Summit was held, Franck Biancheri required the creation of a parliament for the Euroland, addressing specific decisions made exclusively by members of the European Parliament coming from Euro zone states. In addition, preparations would be made for a trans-Euroland referendum to validate

the overall balance of the Euro zone governance, specified in a very short and understandable text incorporating a democratic electoral control by the citizens[3]. This proposal for the creation of the Euro zone Parliament is already taken up by prominent figures such as Wolfgang Schäuble, German Minister of Finance.

 

 Themes :

•   Why is Euroland critical for the future of the European project? (analysis of failures of the 1992-2014 EU project, 2008-2014 series of crises imposing a change of course, need to finalize a system of governance of the euro zone, opportunity to insert the democratic articulation at the heart of the European architecture)

•   Providing Euroland with the world’s most modern supra-national institutional system: national-supranational articulation, flexibility and adaptability, network and coordination

•   Turning Euroland into History’s first democratic supra-national entity: building Euroland’s institutional system starting from its democratic rooting

•   Towards a trans-Euroland Manifesto for a political and democratic union of Euroland

Preparatory Document

(by Harald Greib, Vice-President of LEAP, in charge of the Euroland Governance 2020 work group)

Europe is in crisis: Euro crisis, Ukrainian crisis, destiny crisis, global influence crisis.

One of Europe`s great strengths has always been to take advantage of crises and get out of them as a stronger entity.

Jacques Delors knew how to transform the stagnation period of the European integration process, named « Euro-sclerosis » at that time, into a considerable improvement thanks to the common market creation project, formalized within the European Common Act of 1986.

Helmut Kohl and François Mitterrand were able to transform the instability risk which followed the fall of the Berlin Wall into strengthening the ties between member states through the EU creation initiative, establishing a closer cooperation of the external policies, of the judicial and police matters, founding the economic and monetary union.

In politics, it is clear that currently there is no vision of a desirable evolution as regards the European integration process.

Although the danger of the Eurozone collapse seems far away, the austere policies followed obligatorily by the member states who had to appeal to the European Stability Mechanism (ESM) in order to save their banking system from bankruptcy, or their governments from insolvency, and restore their economic competitiveness, require significant sacrifices as regards the public employment, the role of the state, the level of social care, etc. They could, in the long term, endanger the social cohesion in the concerned states and ultimately jeopardize the functioning of the monetary union, or of the European Union, if equity is not at the heart of the process.

Although the danger of a sustainable EU-Russia conflict seems eliminated,  Catherine Ashton`s politics in Kiev showed that European independence from the United States rests on weak bases and strong interest persists within the institutions trying to push Europe into a submissive position as regards the U.S. interests.

Actually, in the present situation, despite all success recorded by the Euroland in its crisis management, the number of Europeans imagining Europe not as part of the solution, but as part of the problem, is clearly growing, threatening the decision making process at the European level and the national political stability.

The results of the European elections of 25 May 2014, which attributed 25% of the MEPs` seats to anti-European and Euro-skeptical parties, are without appeal.

The current institutional framework was allowed to decide and implement the reactive austere politics we know, but the European governance can barely decide upon an active policy for fighting against the crisis, which could include multiple instruments, such as: effective regulation of the financial industry, the introduction of a system of guarantees for bank funding, the creation of Eurobonds, the coordination of macroeconomic policy, a fiscal convergence, the fight against tax evasion, a relaunching policy plan via infrastructure construction, financed by loans[4], a tax on financial transactions, repatriation of Euro currency capital markets in the Euroland, a European Rating Agency, etc. [5]

All of those are for good reasons! These instruments and measures would imply such pooling of sovereignties that the democratic legitimacy of the EU currently seems most insufficient. Should we remind you that the European Parliament, the only European institution issued by popular vote, is not elected by all Europeans in a unique / common election, but it’s only a juxtaposition of national members elected by 28 national elections? That they do not hold the right of legislative initiative, though essential to the function of a democratic parliament? That the German Bundesverfassungsgericht in its many stops as regards the European Institutional evolution is a constant reminder that the European Parliament on its current legal basis could never fulfill the role of democratic vector in the European legislative process? That any kingly measure infringing the Europeans` fundamental rights can only be made by an institution that has been elected through direct universal suffrage by all Europeans?

The current institutional framework has been unable to control the troubles of its High Representative for Foreign Affairs, Ms Catherine Ashton, who in the EU-Russia-Ukraine reports has pursued a policy in favor of American interests to the detriment of the European interests.

All of those are for good reasons! The institutional configuration does not ensure an effective democratic control of the European Commission, the only hierarchical institution facing a 28 state Council of Ministers struggling to find agreements and unable to act on short notice and in emergencies.

In the current structure of the EU and Euroland systems, the unanimous vote remains within the Council of Ministers as the only democratic guarantee, ensuring that everyone is fully represented in the European decision making process.

Yet, such a rule paralyzes the functioning of the EU, one or more member states still evoking compelling reasons to deny decisions desired by the majority and seriously undermining the effectiveness of the decision-making process, thus disabling any exercise of global influence within the EU.

Therefore, the European Union finds itself, with its 500 million inhabitants and its global economic power status, a helpless giant.

In addition, this is a direct consequence of the crisis of fate that underlies the whole process of European integration, since Charles de Gaulle put his idea of a ​​”Europe of nations” in opposition to the initial project of European integration, i.e., the “pooling of national sovereignties” dear to Jean Monnet and other founding fathers of the European Communities, which should have led to the establishment of a European political union. Unfortunately, this has never been the case.

This essential disagreement on the purpose of the European integration process has been reinforced with the arrival of the United Kingdom, Denmark, Sweden and other member states. An incredible energy and immeasurable time were lost in fruitless discussions on “federation”, “confederation”, “community of Nation States”, etc., instead of questioning (and answering) “What Europe do we want?”; “What degree of solidarity?”; “What degree of harmonization?”; “How much pooling of sovereignties?”; “What role for Europe in the world?”; and “What institutions are needed to make this Europe democratic?”.[6] One thing is still obvious: the Europeans will no longer accept a system that produces decisions having a certain impact on their lives without ever knowing clearly who has made them, and without being able to sanction or support any political orientation whatsoever at the polls.

As a result, Europe is faced with the crisis, devoid of an effective decision-making system and unable to make decisions in the interest of all Europeans. Not only does the crisis drag on for a long time, but Europe may miss its chance to take its place in tomorrow`s multi-polar world, next to the U.S. and the BRICS.

The Institutional Gordian knot releasing the path to the European political union will be cut only by a rebellion of the civil society which will assume the task of writing a European constitution to be submitted for approval to the European men and women through trans-European referendum.



[1] Monthly publication edited by LEAP, worldwide known due to its precise anticipations on the evolution of the global systemic crisis, ever since February 2006.

[2] The instauration which was qualified by Franck Biancheri as Coup d’Etat of the Euroland on the Community system (GEAB No. 45 of May 2010) expelling the United Kingdom and Sweden from the governance of the Economic and Monetary Union.

[3] GEAB No. 45 of May 2010

[4] Which Franck Biancheri already recommended in June 2008.

[5] A list which Franck Biancheri already presented in February 2012.

[6] Franck Biancheri was already writing in the GEAB No. 62 of February 2012 that there was « an absolute imperative for the European elites to take away the democratic mortgage weighing heavily on the European integration process »

About Marie Hélène

LEAP, Member of WFSF

Franck Biancheri Networks

Accueil / Accueil / Home / EUROLAND GOUVERNANCE 2020 / 1ère session: Vers une union politique et démocratique d’Euroland

EUROLAND GOUVERNANCE 2020 / 1ère session: Vers une union politique et démocratique d’Euroland

Bruxelles, le 09/01/2015 

Organisé par le Laboratoire Européen d’Anticipation Politique (LEAP/E2020)

En partenariat avec l’Association des Amis de Franck Biancheri

 

Problématique

La crise de l’Euro, et plus récemment la crise ukrainienne, a révélé un vide politique majeur de la construction européenne. Les banquiers de la BCE et les fonctionnaires de la Commission européenne et des Etats-Membres ont géré bon an mal cette crise. Techniquement, leur travail a évité à l’Euro de s’effondrer, ce qui est une belle réussite. Mais l’inarticulation démocratique des décisions qui ont dû être prises n’en finit pas de fragiliser l’ensemble de l’édifice européen : euroscepticisme croissant, manifestations anti-austérité, accusations d’ « inconstitutionnalité » des décisions prises par l’Euroland, enquêtes parlementaires sur les processus décisionnels de la Troïka,…

La crise de l’Euro est finalement moins une crise de gouvernance qu’une crise de légitimité, une crise démocratique donc.

Il appartient donc aux « Eurolandais » (via leurs membres et leurs représentants) de réfléchir aux solutions appropriées pour assurer que l’Euroland, ce nouveau souverain né d’une monnaie commune et de sa crise d’adolescence, parachève la promesse des pères fondateurs : une union politique pourvue des institutions politiques décisionnelles élues par tous les Européens.

Le but du séminaire sera d’esquisser les grandes lignes d’un acte fondateur d’Euroland en définissant ses compétences et ses institutions décisionnelles démocratiquement légitimées, et en esquissant une feuille de route pour la création de l’union politique et démocratique de l’Euroland.

Un résultat concret de ce séminaire consistera à rassembler nos discussions et conclusions dans un document final qui sera un « Manifeste européen pour la création d’une union politique et démocratique de l’Euroland »

Des précurseurs d’un tel manifeste existent, comme notamment le Manifeste pour une union politique de l’euro signé par, entre autres éminentes personnalités, Thomas Piketty, désormais rendu célèbre par l’accueil enthousiaste de son livre « Le capital au 21 siècle » ; ou la proposition pour une Communauté politique de l’Euro du Groupe Eiffel ; ou encore le document Vers une union de l’euro du Groupe Glienicker. Mais tous ces manifestes souffrent du défaut d’être des initiatives nationales.

Certes, l’Europe politique, sous sa forme actuelle qu’est l’UE, a été créée par des Etats nationaux. Aujourd’hui pourtant, l’Europe est suffisamment réelle, par ses institutions, ses élections, ses programmes d’échange comme notamment ERASMUS, sa monnaie commune, pour que l’Europe dont nous avons besoin soit fondée sur une approche transeuropéenne où des femmes et des hommes venus de tous les Etats-membres de la zone euro se rassemblent et réfléchissent ensemble sur l’Europe que nous voulons pour nous et nos enfants.

Ainsi Euroland renouera avec la tradition en matière d’intégration européenne consistant à avancer sur la base d’un groupe « pionniers » qui tracera un nouveau chemin que les autres seront ensuite invités à suivre s’ils le souhaitent.

Le séminaire s’adresse principalement à tous les ressortissants d’Euroland désireux de finaliser le processus d’intégration européenne initié par les pères fondateurs en renouant avec les principes d’origine (paix, indépendance, prospérité, démocratie…).

Il s’adresse notamment aux acteurs de la société civile et politique européenne, aux hommes et femmes politiques mus par une vision de l’Europe, aux économistes spécialistes de la zone euro, aux parlementaires européens et nationaux, et aux hauts fonctionnaires des gouvernements des Etats membres et régions de la zone euro et des institutions européennes passionnés par le défi de la démocratisation du processus d’intégration.

 

Objectifs :

Les conclusions des présentations et débats formeront la base d’un manifeste européen pour la création d’une union politique et démocratique d’Euroland qui sera transmis aux gouvernements des Etats-membres de la zone euro, de tous les parlementaires européens et nationaux des Etats membres de la zone euro et les institutions européennes

Il a pour ambition d’être publié dans les grands journaux des Etats-membres de la zone euro pour lancer un débat politique transeuropéen en vue d’aboutir à la rédaction d’une constitution de l’Euroland à soumettre par référendum à l’avis de tous les ressortissants des Etat-membres de la zone euro.

 

Héritage conceptuel

Dès 2006, dans le tout premier numéro du GEAB (GlobalEurope Anticipation Bulletin)[1], notre regretté directeur des Etudes et de la Stratégie, Franck Biancheri, écrivait : « Les leaders politiques de la zone euro vont être confrontés à un impératif simple : reprendre en main le “projet Euro” dont l’actuel Euroland n’est qu’une première étape, totalement inachevée ; ou bien payer le coût électoral d’un double abandon : celui de la poursuite de l’intégration économique et celui de la direction des affaires aux seuls banquiers centraux. »

Il recommandait une reprise en main politique par la mise en place de deux instruments essentiels pour maîtriser (en partie) les événements :

« . une institution légère, mais politiquement très visible et légitime, de pilotage économique de l’Euroland (le Secrétariat de l’Euroland), totalement distinct des institutions communautaires qui permettrait la définition de réponses économiques, industrielles et sociales communes aux effets négatifs de la crise.

. des « Sommets de l’Euroland en tant qu’autorité politique démocratique légitime » régulièrement tenus (tous les 4 mois), afin d’orienter, piloter, rassurer et pouvoir réagir dans un délai assez court. »

Depuis les 8 et 9 mai 2010, les sommets de l’Euroland sont entrés dans la réalité politique européenne[2].

Déjà en mai 2010, quelques jours seulement après la tenue du premier sommet historique de l’Euroland, Franck Biancheri exigeait la création d’un Parlement de l’Euroland, constitué pour les décisions spécifiques à l’Euroland des seuls membres du Parlement européen issus des Etats appartenant à la zone Euro, ainsi que la tenue d’un référendum trans-Euroland pour valider les grands équilibres de la gouvernance de la zone Euro, précisés dans un texte très court et compréhensible intégrant un contrôle électoral démocratique par les citoyen[3]. Cette proposition pour la création du Parlement de la zone Euro est désormais reprise par des personnages aussi éminents que Wolfgang Schaüble, ministre des finances de l’Allemagne.

 

Thèmes :

  • Pourquoi l’Euroland constitue-t-il une plateforme pertinente de renaissance du projet européen ? (les échecs de l’édifice UE de 1992 à 2014, crises en série imposant un changement de cap –  2008-2014, nécessité de finaliser un système de gouvernance de la zone Euro, occasion d’insérer l’articulation démocratique au cœur de l’édifice européen)
  • Doter l’Euroland du système institutionnel supra-national le plus moderne au monde : articulation national-supranational, souplesse et adaptabilité, réseau et coordination
  • Faire de l’Euroland le premier exemple d’entité supra-nationale démocratique : faire de l’ancrage démocratique de l’Euroland le point de départ de l’édifice institutionnel
  • Vers un Manifeste trans-Euroland pour une union politique et démocratique de l’Euroland

 

Programme :

 

Débats à « huis clos » modérés par Marie-Hélène Caillol et Harald Greib

8.30-9.00          Accueil participants / Café d’accueil

9.00-9.30          Mots d’accueil / Introductions

9.30-9.45          Tour de table

9.45-10.30      Pourquoi l’Euroland constitue-t-il une plateforme pertinente de renaissance du projet européen ? (les échecs de l’édifice UE de 1992 à 2014, crises en série imposant un changement de cap –  2008-2014, nécessité de finaliser un système de gouvernance de la zone Euro, occasion d’insérer l’articulation démocratique au cœur de l’édifice européen)

                        Introduction par M. Jakob von Weizsäcker, Membre du Parlement européen (Comité ECON)

10.30-11.00       Débat

11.00-11.15      Pause-café

11.15-12.00    Doter l’Euroland du système institutionnel supra-national le plus moderne au monde : articulation national-supranational, souplesse et adaptabilité, réseau et coordination

12.00-12.30      Débat

12.30-14.00      Déjeuner

14.00-14.45    Faire de l’Euroland le premier exemple d’entité supra-nationale démocratique : faire de l’ancrage démocratique de l’Euroland le point de départ de l’édifice institutionnel

Introduction par M. Thomas Wieser, Président du Groupe de Travail Euro de la zone Euro, Comité Economique et financier, Union européenne

14.45-15.15       Débat

15.15-15.30      Pause-café

15.30-16.15    Vers un Manifeste trans-Euroland pour une union politique et démocratique de l’Euroland

16.15-16.45      Débat

16.45-17.30      Conclusions

 

Liste de participants pressentis :

Thomas Wieser, Président, Groupe de travail EuroGroupe (confirmé)

Thomas Piketty, Economiste

Jakob von Weizsäcker, Député européen (confirmé)

Luis Alvarado, Vice-président, Youth Forum

Antonio Vitorino, Président Notre Europe

Marie-Hélène Caillol, Présidente LEAP (confirmée)

Sylvie Goulard, Députée européenne

Maria Joao Rodrigues, Députée européenne

Daniela Schwarzer, Glienicker Group

Jose Maria Compagni-Morales, Vice-President Newropeans

Pier Virgilio Dastoli, CIME

Harald Greib, Vice-Président LEAP (confirmé)

Simon Dutour, Sénat, France

Jose Ignacio Torreblanca, ECFR Madrid

Guntram B. Wolff, Bruegel

Nicole Scicluna, Collegio Carlo Alberto

Wolfgang Schauble, Ministre finances, Allemagne (représentant)

Martin Schultz, Président du PE (représentant)

Philippe Léglise-Costa, Cabinet, Présidence française

Oskar Josef Gstrein, Europa-Institut of Saarland University

 

Document préparatoire

(par Harald Greib, Vice-Président de LEAP, responsable du groupe de travail Euroland Gouvernance 2020)

L’Europe est en crise : crise de l’euro, crise ukrainienne, crise de destin, crise d’influence globale.

L’une des grandes forces de l’Europe a toujours été de profiter de ses crises pour en sortir renforcée.

Jacques Delors a su transformer la période de stagnation du processus d’intégration européenne, alors nommée « Euro-sclérose », en avancée considérable grâce au projet de création du marché unique, formalisé dans l’Acte unique européen de 1986.

Helmut Kohl et François Mitterrand ont su transformer le péril d’instabilité qui a suivi la chute du Mur de Berlin en renforçant  les liens entre les Etats membres par  l’initiative de création de l’Union européenne qui instaurait une coopération renforcée des politiques extérieures et en matière judiciaire et policière et qui fondait l’union économique et monétaire.

Force est de constater qu’actuellement, dans la sphère politique, aucune vision sur une évolution souhaitable du processus d’intégration européenne n’existe.

Même si le danger de l’éclatement de la zone Euro paraît écarté, la politique d’austérité que sont obligés de suivre les états-membres qui ont dû faire appel au Mécanisme Européen de Stabilité (MES) pour sauver leurs système bancaire de la faillite, voire leurs gouvernements de l’insolvabilité, et de rétablir leur compétitivité économique, impose des sacrifices importants au niveau de l’emploi public, du rôle de l’état, degré de protection sociale, etc… Elle pourrait à long terme mettre en danger la cohésion sociale dans les états concernés et finalement mettre en cause le fonctionnement de l’union monétaire, voire de l’Union européenne, si l’équité n’est pas au cœur du processus.

Même si le danger d’un conflit durable UE- Russie paraît écarté, la politique de Catherine Ashton à Kiev a démontré que l’indépendance européenne par rapport aux Etats- unis ne repose que sur des fondements fragiles et que des intérêts forts persistent au sein des institutions qui tentent de pousser l’Europe dans une position de sous-mission aux intérêts américains.

De facto, dans l’état actuel, en dépit des succès enregistrés par l’Euroland dans sa gestion de la crise, le nombre d’Européens concevant l’Europe non en tant que partie de la solution mais en tant que problème est en nette progression, mettant en péril la prise de décision au niveau européen et la stabilité politique nationale. Le résultat des élections européennes du 25 mai 2014 qui ont attribué 25% des sièges de députés européens à des partis anti-européens ou euro- sceptiques est sans appel.

Le cadre institutionnel actuel a permis de décider et mettre en œuvre la politique réactive d’austérité que l’on sait. Mais la gouvernance européenne peine à décider d’une politique active de lutte contre la crise qui pourrait englober de multiples instruments tels que : une régulation efficace de l’industrie financière, l’instauration d’un système de garantie de fonds bancaires, la création d’Eurobonds, la coordination de la politique macro-économique, une  convergence fiscale, la lutte contre l’évasion fiscale, un plan politique de relance via la construction d’infrastructures, financé par l’emprunt[4], une taxe sur les transactions financières, rapatriement des marchés financiers en Euro dans l’Euroland, agence de notation européenne etc…[5]

Et pour cause ! Ces instruments et mesures impliqueraient une telle mise en commun des souverainetés que la légitimité démocratique dont l’UE est dotée actuellement paraît largement insuffisante. Faut-il rappeler que le Parlement européen, seule institution européenne issue d’un vote populaire, n’est pas élu par tous les  Européens dans une élection unique, mais une juxtaposition des députés nationaux élus par 28 élections nationales ? Qu’il ne détient pas le droit d’initiative législative, pourtant essentiel dans la fonction d’un parlement véritablement démocratique ? Que le Bundesverfassungsgericht allemand dans ses nombreux arrêts au sujet de l’évolution institutionnelle européenne ne cesse de rappeler que le Parlement européen sur sa base juridique actuelle ne pourrait jamais remplir le rôle de vecteur démocratique dans le processus législatif européen ? Que toute mesure régalienne qui porte atteinte aux droits fondamentaux des Européens ne peut être prise que par une institution qui a été élue par suffrage universel direct de tous les Européens ?

Le cadre institutionnel actuel a été incapable de contrôler les agitations de sa Haute Représentant pour les affaires étrangères Catherine Ashton, qui, dans les rapports UE- Russie- Ukraine a poursuivi une politique en faveur des intérêts américains au détriment des intérêts européens.

Et pour cause ! La configuration institutionnelle n’assure pas un contrôle démocratique efficace de la Commission européenne, institution unique hiérarchisée face à un conseil de ministres de 28 qui peinent à trouver des accords et sont incapables d’agir dans des brefs délais et dans l’urgence.

Dans la structure actuelle du système communautaire et eurolandais reste le vote à l’unanimité au sein du Conseil des ministres en tant que seul gage de démocratie, assurant que tout un chacun européen est représenté dans les décisions prises. Mais une telle règle paralyse le fonctionnement de l’UE, un ou plusieurs états membres évoquant toujours des raisons incontournables pour refuser une décision souhaitée par la majorité et nuit gravement à l’efficacité décisionnelle, handicapant ainsi tout exercice d’influence globale de l’UE.

Ainsi l’Union européenne est-elle, avec ses 500 millions d’habitants et son statut de première puissance économique mondiale, un géant impuissant.

Et ceci est la conséquence directe de la crise de destin qui est sous-jacente à tout le processus d’intégration européenne, depuis que Charles de Gaulle mettait son idée d’ « Europe des nations » en opposition au projet initial de la construction européenne, c.a.d.,  la « mise en commun des souverainetés nationales » chère à Jean Monnet et aux autres pères fondateurs des Communautés européennes, et qui aurait dû aboutir à l’instauration d’une union politique européenne. Hélas, ceci n’a jamais été le cas.

Ce désaccord essentiel sur la finalité institutionnelle du processus d’intégration européenne s’est renforcé avec l’arrivée du Royaume-Uni, du Danemark, de la Suède et d’autres états-membres. Une incroyable énergie et un temps incommensurable ont été perdus dans des discussions stériles sur « fédération », « confédération », « communauté des Etats nations », etc…, au lieu de se poser la question (et de donner la réponse) « Quelle Europe voulons- nous » ? Quel degré de solidarité, quel degré d’harmonisation, quel degré de mise en commun des souverainetés, quel rôle de l’Europe dans le monde et quelles institutions nécessaires pour rendre cette Europe démocratique ?[6] Car une chose va de soi : Les Européens n’accepteront plus longtemps un système qui produit des décisions ayant un impact certain sur leur vie sans jamais savoir clairement qui les a prises et sans pouvoir sanctionner ou encourager quelque orientation politique que ce soit dans les urnes.

En conséquence, l’Europe se retrouve face à la crise, démunie de système décisionnel efficace et en mesure de prendre les décisions dans l’intérêt de tous les Européens. Non seulement la crise s’éternise, mais aussi l’Europe risque de rater sa chance de prendre sa place dans le monde multipolaire de demain, aux côté des Etats-Unis et des BRICS.

Le nœud gordien institutionnel pour libérer le chemin vers l’union politique européenne ne sera tranché que par une rébellion de la société civile qui fera sien la tâche d’écrire une constitution européenne à soumettre à l’approbation des Européennes et des Européens par référendum transeuropéen.



[1] Publication mensuelle de LEAP mondialement connue grâce à ses anticipations précises sur le déploiement de la crise systémique globale depuis  février 2006.

[2] Dont l’instauration a été qualifié par Franck Biancheri de Coup d’Etat d’Euroland sur le système communautaire (GEAB No. 45 de mai 2010) en expulsant le Royaume- uni et la Suède de la gouvernance de l’Union économique et monétaire.

[3] GEAB No. 45 de mai 2010

[4] Que Franck Biancheri recommandait déjà en juin 2008.

[5] Liste que Franck Biancheri énumerait déjà en février 2012.

[6] Franck Biancheri écrivait d’ores et déjà dans le GEAB No. 62 de février 2012 qu’il existait « l’impératif absolu pour les élites européennes de lever l’hypothèque démocratique qui pèse désormais lourdement sur le processus d’intégration européenne »

À propos Marie Hélène