Home / Home / Accueil / US elections: the detonator of the ultimate phase of the economic and financial American crisis (Excerpt GEAB June 2016)

US elections: the detonator of the ultimate phase of the economic and financial American crisis (Excerpt GEAB June 2016)

This month we analyze the impact of the US presidential campaign on the way the American economic and financial situations are perceived. We all know that reality is a matter of perception.

Our readers have probably noticed that recently we have spoken less frequently of the US economy in our bulletins. The reason is simple: we were tired of repeating over and over again that the economic fundamentals were still bad, contrary to what we were made to believe. Yet, we realize that the mastery of communication on the state of the country – cover up of bad news combined with self-persuasion about a kickback and dropping bombs of bad news about the Euro area and the BRICS – was enough to deflect the crisis to the outside and to maintain the illusion of an invincible America.

Thus, we would have been better to follow the reorganization of the rest of the world, nevertheless, remaining alert to those factors weakening the beautiful coherence of the US rebound speech. One thing is for sure: this reality cover up definitely prevented the United States from settling their recurrent problems: no real consolidation, no US self-questioning since 2009. On the contrary, communication seemed to palliate all problems.

The GEAB, LEAP’s confidential letter is a monthly bulletin available under subscription. Its contents are not made available to the public until three months later. We offer you the access to this exclusive article from June’s bulletin (GEAB n°106). If you want to read our articles in real time, subscribe to the GEAB!

We believe that, at this stage, the presidential campaign provides the resurgence of realistic conditions conducive to the “hard-landing” anticipated by our team earlier this year[1]. The whole of American society is currently divided between two disparate groups spinning around two opposing targets:

– Maintain the status quo; continue to control the positive communication, make announcements of interest increases as proof of the good health of the US economy, with the aim of having Hillary Clinton elected;

– Reveal or over-dramatize the economic situation with anticipations of a huge disaster, contributing to panic opinions, in order to impose a radical change in policy, and the change would be brought about by Donald Trump.

It is in this light, therefore, that we are studying the news coming out of the US press, noting that reality probably lies between these two extremes. Even if the US has not officially recognized the reality of the extensive economic difficulties, it does not mean they don’t exist. The real aim of the cover up was to protect the financial sector, a mirror of the collective psychology more than of reality. The US-centred financial markets are at risk, but our readers know that we recognize a great difference between how dependent the world was on the US in 2007, and how things stand today. We must repeat that the world has made a great organisational effort in the past ten years, and many alternatives exist now, a good barrier in the event of a crash.

US presidential campaign: an indicator of the state of the country

Despite the poor quality of the US debates, the presidential campaign is allowing a “moment of truth”, a freedom of speech related to the fracturing of the society (including of the establishment itself) into two camps. Yet, in the case of the current ultra-polarized country, the usual split between Democrat and Republican supporters has become a widening chasm showing unexpected images of the country’s situation.

And, suddenly, alarmist articles on the US economy are blooming. Besides the political shows that we have seen on TV, there is also the fact that communication is slowing down by itself. For example, let’s take the Fed’s announcements: Ms. Yellen is managing with more and more difficulty to guide the markets[2] with her reassuring-but-not-too-much statements and her close-but-distant interest rate increases, which never really happen after all (we will get back to this point later).

With the approaching election, it has become impossible to hide the problems that were previously buried under the good national news or the foreign news – because election campaigns usually force nations to talk about themselves and recognize their own problems. Strangely, it is precisely at this time that monthly statistics on employment start to dive[3], with a worst month of May since 2010 for job creation (while March and April were revised sharply down), causing some panic[4] just before a Fed meeting which planned to raise its key interest rate[5], but finding now a good excuse to wait a little longer.

The financial world is also beginning to worry openly… Over 10,000 billion dollars of sovereign bonds currently have negative rates (nearly the Euro zone’s GDP, to give an idea of the scale). Yet, the motivation of an investor who buys a negative rate bond is not to lose money: he hopes that rates will drop again, and he will make a profit by selling it (since it would become more interesting in a low rate environment). This spiral, or rather the fear of a jam when rates rise, creates great anxiety for Bill Gross, for example, who is warning of the explosion danger of nothing less than a “supernova”[6].

George Soros, on the other hand, is betting on the imminent fall of the markets, so he is selling its shares to buy gold[7]. Goldman Sachs also sees a strong market decline in the twelve months to come[8], which means around the US election. According to the aforementioned bank, the markets are about to enter the “despair” mode[9], in a configuration that strongly reminds us of 2007…

Moreover, the mainstream media articles are multiplying and alerting us about current similarities with 2007: bond markets have never been so valued, yet returning so little[10]; financial markets are levitating[11], now even more so than in 2000 and 2007; the dreaded shock of a possible Brexit makes the British pound as volatile as in 2008[12]; we are hearing of subprime mortgages in the US again, this time within the declining automotive sector, where poor quality loans represent 20% of the total and see their default rate dangerously increase[13]

Alerts on the economical situation are currently raining down, perhaps hoping to avoid the tragedy of 2008 – which had been anticipated by almost no one – by calling global economic players to come to the rescue of a cataclysm which would touch us all, like it occurred in the past. But this time the US is facing independent actors, decidedly less worried about the US destiny and largely focused on their own problems: China is slowly but surely laying the foundation for a new world (more on this below); Russia goes its own way no longer worrying about pleasing the West in order to stay alive; US oil producers seem to have surrendered to the war of prices led by OPEC[14], at a time when bankruptcies are increasing, etc.

graph 1

Figure 1 – Oil production of the US (blue line) and of the OPEC (white line), 2015-2016. Source: Bloomberg.

To sum up, the “hard landing” of the US economy, in a Hollywood-style remake of 2008, does not seem far away.

Admittedly, in addition to finance, the outlook for the real economy is also very dark in the US[15], with the ever growing debt (public and private) becoming increasingly worrying[16] (households are as indebted as in 2008, again); the employment rate which, after three encouraging months, is declining again (less than 63% participation in the labour market compared to 67% in 2000); food stamps at the highest level with 45 million people concerned[17]; the oil sector cannot take any more suffering from low prices, while the latter do not even help the US economy[18]; the on-going decommissioning of households, etc.

graph 2

Figure 2 – Average net worth in the US, 1983-2013. Source: Pew Research Center.

Of course, we could go on painting the portrait of a society where unemployment, poverty, bankruptcy, and social problems are becoming more and more relevant. All this is nothing new. Yet, what is new, after all, is that all these elements are emerging suddenly in the media because of the conflicting interests that are fighting before the November election. It’s that time of great risk when fire can be set to the powder and cause the “hard-landing” that we anticipated in January.

Somehow, the surge of bad news and collective revelations about the fact that no problems have really been solved in the past 10 years are pushing many operators to a deep feeling of discouragement and will most probably tempt them to pass the hot potato to Trump…

An independent Fed, really?

Officially, the elites are still collectively behind Clinton, even if it is not quite sure what position to take in order to help her out. The Fed is in the same position as it wavers between raising the interest rates to give a supposed signal of improvement of the economy (but taking the risk of suffocating financial markets), or on the contrary, by holding rates steady until after the elections, to give some air to the country, even if that means pointing fingers to a fragile “recovery”[19] (by the way, we need to remind you that the president of the Fed, Janet Yellen, is openly a Democrat [20]…).

As a matter of fact, some other aspects should be considered. The US needs a strong dollar to attract foreign investments and mask the weakness of their own economy: this requires the Fed to raise its interest rate and present a more attractive country for foreign capital.

graph 3

3 – Jobs created by direct foreign investments (FDI) in the US. Source: International Trade Administration.

Yet, a higher dollar is undermining the country’s competitiveness at the international level and is therefore causing trouble for exporters; moreover, it helps to maintain oil prices at a low level, while badly damaging the US oil industry.

graph 4

Figure 4 – US energy sector, debts and percentage of profits, 2015 and 1st quarter 2016. Source: SRSrocco Report.

The equation is not simple at all – in fact, it is a dead end, and once again the communication skills will be much needed to successfully walk the tightrope above the precipice, but for how long? And even if this game continues without a hitch, could this really prevent Trump from winning the White House?

Caught between two fires, Yellen will undoubtedly respect the announcement of increased interest rates by the end of the year (probably at the most appropriate time, to show that all is well before the election, meaning, in September or October) in order to keep Fed’s credibility high, but it will be an insignificant increase, the US economy not being able to support more, as we have already repeatedly analyzed.

2017: end of the groomed trail 

The election deadline of November 2016 is visibly establishing an unsurpassable horizon now. Even the rest of the world seems relatively on hold, unable to do anything but prepare for the worst from that date on, while acting as if nothing has happened by then. While Europe is recovering[21] (through a quiet period permitted by the refocusing of US newspapers on their own country) and is beginning to solve its economic problems (not its political ones, unfortunately), the Middle East is gradually coming out of the doldrums, thanks to new interactions between major regional players[22], and China and Asia are gradually taking their place in the global leadership[23]. But all of these countries are nevertheless on hold, waiting for the American voters to choose. As we have seen, there is much uncertainty in this respect…

However, in the logic of “turning QE”, which we have already spoken about, the easing policy of the ECB and the BoJ is helping the United States promote a strong dollar, which is beginning to stiffen the concerned regions[24] … Many voices are raised, stopping this kind of monetary policy, mostly because they feel it is not always in the interest of the region. Similarly, European sanctions against Russia are completely opposed to the European needs, but are there to serve Uncle Sam exclusively. Many leaders see this[25]. Even Juncker is stating that “we cannot allow our relations with Russia to be dictated by Washington[26]” and is taking a daring trip to Moscow this month[27]!

Thus we see a decoupling between the US on the one hand, and the rest of the planet on the other, an economic as much as a political separation. Thus, in case of a “hard-landing” of the US economy, obviously there will be a global shock wave, but it will be less destabilizing than in 2008.

Until then, the US-centred world continues to live openly in an atypical environment, while behind the scenes the rest of the world does its best to manage the transition. It must be assumed that all recent economic developments are temporary, and 2017 will simply have nothing to do with them. The Fed’s attempt to increase interest rates, a strong dollar, oil prices below $50 a barrel, rising stock markets, sanctions against Russia, European quantitative easing, etc.: all should soon stop. Besides, the G20 in Hangzhou will set the basis for a broad global reorganization from September on.

Thus, for the following six months, if we had to give any advice, it would be this: wait and see…


[1] GEAB no. 101, January 2016.

[2] Source: Business Insider, 29/03/2016.

[3] Source: US News, 03/06/2016.

[4] Source: CNBC, 03/06/2016.

[5] Source: New York Times, 07/06/2016.

[6] « Negative yields will lead to ‘supernova’-like market implosion ». Source: Market Watch, 10/06/2016.

[7] Source: Fox News, 09/06/2016.

[8] Source: ZeroHedge, 17/05/2016.

[9] « Prepare for a major drawdown ». Source: ZeroHedge, 08/06/2016.

[10] Source: Bloomberg, 13/06/2016.

[11] Source: MarketWatch, 11/12/2015.

[12] Source: Telegraph, 06/06/2016.

[13] Source: Seeking Alpha, 06/06/2016.

[14] Source: Bloomberg, 04/05/2016.

[15] Read for instance this very instructive article: « The Next Big Crash of the U.S. Economy Is Coming, Here’s Why » (source: SRSrocco Report, 26/05/2016). Or: « 5 factors that could turn America into another collapsed empire » (source: MarketWatch, 06/06/2016).

[16] Source: Wall Street Journal, 25/05/2016.

[17] Source: USDA.

[18] Source: New York Times, 21/01/2016.

[19] Read on this topic: « Could an ‘accident’ by Janet Yellen derail Clinton? » (source: Politico, 01/12/2015).

[20] Source: Wikipédia.

[21] Source : Wall Street Journal, 29/04/2016.

[22] As we have seen it in the last bulletin.

[23] Particularly China with the organization of a very ambitious G20, announcing development and world cooperation (source: China Daily, 26/05/2016)… Other indicator of China’s international activism: its investment bank (AIIB) should gather one hundred states before the end of 2016 (!) (source: Straits Times, 01/06/2016).

[24] Sources : Telegraph (10/03/2016) ; Financial Times (20/04/2016) ; Bloomberg (14/04/2016), etc.

[25] Source : Sputnik, 12/05/2016

[26] Source : BBC, 09/10/2015

[27] Source : CNBC, 30/05/2016

About Marie Hélène

Accueil / Accueil / Home / Élections US : détonateur de la phase ultime de la crise économique et financière US (Extrait GEAB Juin 2016)
usa-elections

Élections US : détonateur de la phase ultime de la crise économique et financière US (Extrait GEAB Juin 2016)

Ce mois-ci, notre équipe s’attache à analyser l’impact de la campagne présidentielle américaine sur les perceptions de la situation économique et financière du pays. Or, comme chacun sait, la réalité est affaire de perception.

Nos lecteurs ont sans doute remarqué que nous parlions moins fréquemment de l’économie des États-Unis dans nos pages. La raison en est simple : nous étions las de répéter à l’envi que les fondamentaux économiques étaient toujours aussi mauvais, contrairement à ce qu’on essayait de nous faire croire. Force nous était de constater que la maîtrise de la communication  sur l’état du pays – mélange de camouflage des mauvaises nouvelles, de méthode Coué sur un prétendu rebond et de bombardement de mauvaises nouvelles sur la zone euro puis les BRICS – suffisait à détourner la crise vers l’extérieur et à maintenir l’illusion d’une Amérique invincible.

Il nous restait donc à suivre la réorganisation du reste du monde, tout en restant vigilants aux facteurs susceptibles de fragiliser la belle cohérence du discours sur la reprise US. Nous étions certains d’une chose : cette opération de camouflage de réalité empêchait forcément les États-Unis de régler leurs problèmes qui resurgiraient forcément un jour : aucune véritable consolidation, aucune remise en question ne pouvait avoir lieu aux États-Unis depuis 2009, bien au contraire. La communication palliait tous les problèmes.

Le GEAB, la lettre confidentielle du LEAP, est un bulletin mensuel accessible par abonnement et dont les contenus sont soumis à une clause de confidentialité de 3 mois. Nous vous offrons l’accès en exclusivité à cet article issu du bulletin de Juin 2016 (GEAB n°106). Pour lire ce type d’article en temps réel abonnez-vous au GEAB!

Nous estimons que, à ce stade, la campagne présidentielle fournit les conditions de résurgence de la réalité propices au « hard-landing » anticipé par notre équipe en début d’année[1]. En effet, l’ensemble de la société américaine se divise actuellement entre deux groupes disparates mais organisés autour de deux objectifs opposés :

. maintenir le statu quo, continuer à contrôler la communication positive, les annonces de hausses d’intérêt comme preuve de la belle santé de l’économie américaine, dans le but de faire élire Hillary Clinton ;

. révéler, voire dramatiser, la situation économique, anticiper une énorme catastrophe en cours de développement, contribuer à affoler les opinions, dans le but d’imposer un changement radical de politique, changement désormais incarné par Donald Trump.

C’est à cette aune que notre équipe étudie donc les nouvelles qui sortent de la presse US, sachant que la réalité se situe sans doute entre ces deux extrêmes. Ce n’est pas parce que la réalité des très grandes difficultés économiques US n’était pas reconnue officiellement qu’elle n’était pas à l’œuvre. C’est le secteur financier, reflet de la psychologie collective plus que de la réalité, qui était protégé par ce travail de camouflage. Les marchés financiers américano-centrés risquent donc de souffrir. Mais nos lecteurs savent que nous faisons une belle différence entre le degré de dépendance à l’Amérique du monde en 2007 et celui d’aujourd’hui. Nous le répétons, le monde s’est bien organisé depuis dix ans et de nombreuses alternatives existent qui joueront le rôle de filet dans l’hypothèse d’un crash.

L’élection US comme révélateur de l’état du pays

Malgré la piètre qualité du débat US, la campagne présidentielle présente donc la caractéristique de permettre un « moment de vérité », une libération de la parole, lié à la fracturation de la société (y compris de l’establishment lui-même) en deux camps. Or dans le cas de la campagne ultra-polarisée actuelle, la fissure habituelle entre tenants du camp démocrate et tenants du camp républicain est devenue un véritable gouffre béant d’où sortent des images inattendues de l’état du pays.

C’est ainsi que subitement se remettent à fleurir  les articles alarmistes sur l’économie américaine. Outre le ressort politique que nous venons de voir, il y a aussi le fait que, d’elle-même, la communication s’essouffle. On prendra pour exemple les annonces de la Fed, où Yellen parvient de moins en moins à orienter les marchés[2] avec ses déclarations rassurantes-mais-pas-trop et ses hausses de taux proches-mais-lointaines et qui n’arrivent jamais (nous y reviendrons).

Avec l’élection qui approche, il devient impossible de cacher les problèmes qui étaient auparavant enfouis sous les bonnes nouvelles ou sous les nouvelles de l’étranger – car l’élection force le pays à parler de lui-même et à regarder ses propres problèmes. Étrangement, c’est précisément à cette période que les statistiques mensuelles sur l’emploi commencent à plonger[3], avec en mai le pire mois pour les créations d’emplois depuis 2010 (et mars et avril revus en forte baisse), provoquant une petite panique[4] juste avant une réunion de la Fed qui prévoyait d’augmenter son taux directeur[5] et qui trouve là une bonne excuse pour ne rien faire.

La planète finance commence elle aussi à s’inquiéter ouvertement… Plus de 10.000 milliards de dollars d’obligations souveraines affichent désormais des taux négatifs, soit près du PIB de la zone euro. Or la motivation d’un investisseur qui achète une obligation à taux négatif n’est pas de perdre de l’argent : il espère que les taux baisseront encore pour pouvoir faire une plus-value en revendant son obligation plus cher (puisqu’elle deviendrait plus intéressante dans un environnement à taux plus faibles). Cette spirale, ou plutôt la crainte qu’elle ne s’enraye quand les taux remonteront, crée de grandes angoisses à Bill Gross par exemple, qui avertit du danger de l’explosion ni plus ni moins d’une « supernova »[6].

George Soros parie quant à lui sur la chute imminente des marchés, en vendant ses actions pour miser sur l’or[7]. Goldman Sachs voit elle aussi une forte chute des marchés dans les douze mois qui viennent[8], soit autour de l’élection américaine. Selon la banque, les marchés seraient sur le point d’entrer en mode « désespoir » [9], dans une configuration qui rappelle fortement celle de 2007…

D’ailleurs, les articles mainstream se multiplient pour alerter sur les ressemblances des excès actuels avec ceux de 2007 : les marchés des obligations n’ont jamais été aussi valorisés et n’ont jamais si peu rapporté[10] ; les marchés financiers sont en lévitation[11] et ce encore plus qu’en 2000 et 2007 ; le choc redouté du Brexit rend le cours de la livre sterling aussi volatil[12] qu’en 2008 ; on reparle de subprimes aux États-Unis, cette fois dans le secteur automobile en difficulté, où les crédits de mauvaise qualité représentent 20 % du total et voient leur taux de défaut augmenter dangereusement[13]

Les alertes sur l’état de l’économie pleuvent actuellement, peut-être dans l’espoir d’éviter de renouveler la tragédie de 2008 – qui n’avait, elle, été anticipé par presque personne – en amenant les acteurs économiques mondiaux à venir à la rescousse d’un cataclysme qui concernerait tout le monde, comme à l’époque. Mais cette fois, les États-Unis sont face à des acteurs beaucoup plus indépendants, résolument moins inquiets du destin américain et largement concentrés sur leurs propres problèmes : la Chine pose tranquillement mais sûrement les jalons d’un monde nouveau (nous y reviendrons) ;  la Russie va son chemin sans plus se soucier de plaire à l’Occident pour exister ; les producteurs de pétrole américains semblent avoir capitulé face à la guerre des prix menée par l’OPEP[14] alors que les faillites se multiplient, etc.

graph 1

Figure 1 – Production de pétrole des États-Unis (en bleu) et de l’OPEP (en blanc), 2015-2016. Source : Bloomberg.

Bref, le « hard landing » de l’économie américaine, dans un remake hollywoodien de 2008, ne semble pas loin. Il faut dire que, outre la finance, les perspectives de l’économie réelle sont elles aussi très sombres aux États-Unis[15], entre l’endettement (public et privé) qui redevient inquiétant[16] (les ménages sont aussi endettés qu’en 2008, à nouveau), le taux d’emploi qui, après trois mois encourageants, reprend sa baisse (moins de 63 % de participation au marché du travail contre 67 % en 2000), les bons de nourriture toujours au plus haut avec 45 millions de personnes concernées[17], le secteur pétrolier qui n’en peut plus de souffrir des faibles prix du pétrole alors que ceux-ci ne parviennent même pas à aider l’économie américaine[18], le déclassement des ménages qui continue, etc.

graph 2

Figure 2 – Richesse nette moyenne des ménages US, 1983-2013. Source : Pew Research Center.

Nous pourrions évidemment continuer le portrait d’une société où le chômage, la pauvreté, les faillites, les problèmes sociaux se font de plus en plus prégnants. Tout cela n’a rien de nouveau. Ce qui l’est, c’est que tous ces éléments ressortent d’un coup dans les médias à cause de tous les intérêts contraires qui luttent avant l’élection de novembre. C’est cette période de grand déballage qui risque de mettre le feu aux poudres et provoquer le « hard-landing » que nous anticipions en janvier.

D’une certaine manière, l’emballement de mauvaises nouvelles et les révélations collectives sur le fait qu’aucun problème n’a été réglé depuis 10 ans, doivent pousser de nombreux opérateurs à un profond sentiment de découragement et la tentation de refiler la patate chaude à Trump doit augmenter dans les rangs de la politique mainstream…

Indépendante, la Fed ?

Officiellement cependant, l’establishment est toujours collectivement derrière Clinton, même s’il ne sait plus trop quelle position adopter pour lui faciliter la tâche. Ainsi de la Fed, qui se demande si elle doit remonter ses taux d’intérêt pour donner un gage d’amélioration de l’économie, quitte à asphyxier les marchés financiers, ou au contraire si elle doit maintenir les taux jusqu’à l’élection pour donner de l’air au pays, quitte à pointer du doigt la fragilité de la « reprise »[19] (soit dit en passant, on se rappellera que la présidente de la Fed, Janet Yellen, est ouvertement démocrate[20]…).

En réalité, pèsent dans la balance bien d’autres considérations. Les États-Unis ont besoin d’un dollar fort pour attirer les capitaux étrangers et ainsi masquer la faiblesse de leur propre économie : cela demande à la Fed de monter ses taux d’intérêt pour rendre le pays plus attractif pour les investissements étrangers.

graph 3

Figure 3– Emplois générés par les investissements directs étrangers (FDI) aux États-Unis. Source : International Trade Administration.

Mais un dollar élevé met à mal la compétitivité du pays à l’international et fait donc souffrir les exportateurs ; de plus, il contribue à maintenir le prix du pétrole à un faible niveau, ce qui fait souffrir l’industrie pétrolière américaine.

graph 4

Figure 4 – Pourcentage des bénéfices des compagnies pétrolières US dédié au remboursement des seuls intérêts de leur dette, 2015 et 1er trimestre 2016. Source : SRSrocco Report.

On voit que l’équation n’est pas simple – en fait, c’est une impasse, et une fois encore ce sont les talents de communication qui vont devoir servir pour réussir à jouer l’équilibriste au-dessus du précipice. Pendant combien de temps encore ? Et même si ce petit jeu se poursuit sans accroc, pourra-t-il vraiment empêcher Trump d’accéder à la Maison Blanche ?

Prise entre deux feux, Yellen respectera sans doute son annonce d’augmentation des taux d’ici la fin de l’année (probablement au moment le plus opportun pour montrer que tout va bien avant l’élection, c’est-à-dire en septembre ou en octobre), afin de ne pas perdre toute crédibilité, mais ce sera une augmentation insignifiante, car l’économie US ne pourrait supporter plus, comme nous l’avons déjà maintes fois analysé.

2017 : fin de la piste damée

On voit donc à quel point l’échéance électorale de novembre 2016 instaure un horizon indépassable actuellement. Même le reste du monde y est suspendu et relativement incapable de faire autre chose que se préparer au pire à partir de cette date, tout en faisant comme si de rien n’était d’ici là. Alors que l’Europe retrouve des couleurs[21] (d’une certaine manière grâce à la période d’accalmie permise par le recentrage des organes de presse US sur leur propre pays) et commence à résoudre ses problèmes économiques (mais pas ses problèmes politiques, malheureusement), que le Moyen-Orient sort peu à peu du marasme notamment grâce à de nouvelles interactions entre les grands acteurs régionaux[22], que la Chine et l’Asie prennent progressivement leur place dans le leadership mondial[23], tous ces pays restent néanmoins suspendus au choix des électeurs américains car, on l’a vu, l’incertitude est grande.

Or, dans la logique des « QE tournants » dont nous avons déjà parlé, la politique accommodante de la BCE et de la BoJ sert entre autre le choix des États-Unis de promouvoir un dollar fort et commence à crisper les régions concernées[24]… Nombre de voix s’élèvent en effet pour arrêter ce genre de politique monétaire car elles sentent bien que ce n’est pas toujours dans l’intérêt de la région concernée. De même, les sanctions européennes contre la Russie vont complètement à l’encontre de l’intérêt européen, et ne sont là que pour servir l’Oncle Sam – de plus en plus de dirigeants le comprennent[25], jusqu’à un Juncker déclarant que « nous ne pouvons pas laisser nos relations avec la Russie être dictées par Washington[26] » et osant un voyage à Moscou ce mois-ci[27] !

On voit ainsi se mettre en place un découplage entre les États-Unis d’une part, et le reste de la planète d’autre part, découplage économique autant que politique. Ainsi, en cas de « hard-landing » de l’économie US, s’il y aura évidemment une onde de choc mondiale, elle sera bien moins déstabilisatrice qu’en 2008.

D’ici là, c’est une situation atypique où le monde américano-centré continue de fonctionner en façade, tandis qu’en coulisse le monde entier s’active pour gérer la transition. Il faut donc considérer que toutes les évolutions économiques récentes sont temporaires et que 2017 n’aura juste rien à voir. Tentative de la Fed d’augmentation des taux d’intérêt, dollar fort, prix du pétrole sous les 50$ le baril, hausse des bourses, sanctions contre la Russie, assouplissement quantitatif européen, etc… : tout cela ne devrait pas passer l’année. Sans compter que le G20 de Hangzou va constituer une vaste base de réorganisation mondiale à partir de septembre.

Dans les six mois qui viennent, si notre équipe a un conseil à donner, c’est donc : wait and see…


[1]     GEAB n° 101 de janvier 2016.

[2]     Source : Business Insider, 29/03/2016.

[3]     Source : US News, 03/06/2016.

[4]     Source : CNBC, 03/06/2016.

[5]     Source : New York Times, 07/06/2016.

[6]     « Negative yields will lead to ‘supernova’-like market implosion ». Source : Market Watch, 10/06/2016.

[7]     Source : Fox News, 09/06/2016.

[8]     Source : ZeroHedge, 17/05/2016.

[9]     « Prepare for a major drawdown ». Source : ZeroHedge, 08/06/2016.

[10]   Source : Bloomberg, 13/06/2016.

[11]   Source : MarketWatch, 11/12/2015.

[12]   Source : Telegraph, 06/06/2016.

[13]   Source : Seeking Alpha, 06/06/2016.

[14]   Source : Bloomberg, 04/05/2016.

[15]   Lire par exemple cet article très instructif : « The Next Big Crash Of The U.S. Economy Is Coming, Here’s Why » (source : SRSrocco Report, 26/05/2016). Ou encore : « 5 factors that could turn America into another collapsed empire » (source : MarketWatch, 06/06/2016).

[16]   Source : Wall Street Journal, 25/05/2016.

[17]   Source : USDA.

[18]   Source : New York Times, 21/01/2016.

[19]   Lire à ce sujet : « Could an ‘accident’ by Janet Yellen derail Clinton? » (source : Politico, 01/12/2015).

[20]   Source : Wikipédia.

[21]   Source : Wall Street Journal, 29/04/2016.

[22]   Comme nous l’avons vu dans le dernier numéro.

[23]   En particulier la Chine avec l’organisation d’un G20 très ambitieux cette année, avec de nouvelles pistes prometteuses de développement et de coopérations mondiales (source : China Daily, 26/05/2016)… Autre indice de l’activisme de la Chine sur le plan international : sa banque d’investissement (AIIB) devrait regrouper cent pays d’ici fin 2016 (!) (source : Straits Times, 01/06/2016).

[24]   Sources : Telegraph (10/03/2016) ; Financial Times (20/04/2016) ; Bloomberg (14/04/2016), etc.

[25]   Source : Sputnik, 12/05/2016

[26]   Source : BBC, 09/10/2015

[27]   Source : CNBC, 30/05/2016

À propos Marie Hélène

LEAP, Membre de la WFSF

Les Réseaux Franck Biancheri