Home / Home / Accueil / Last quarter 2016: Vladimir Putin quits the Russian presidency (Excerpt GEAB May 2016)

Last quarter 2016: Vladimir Putin quits the Russian presidency (Excerpt GEAB May 2016)

We are risking a bold anticipation here, but at least does it provide an interesting angle on the EU’s most important issue since 2014: the dramatically decaying relationship with its closest and most powerful neighbour, Russia.

Moreover, as mentioned in our Manual of Political Anticipation[1], the anticipatory exercise consists of “thinking the unthinkable”… and bringing out arguments.

Several considerations, the first one being that the Russian intervention in Syria is a major game-changer, lead us to the following hypothesis:

“By the beginning of 2017, Vladimir Putin will announce early presidential elections in which he will not be running.”

Here is a list of facts and considerations which have led us to make this assumption.

The GEAB, LEAP’s confidential letter is a monthly bulletin available under subscription. Its contents are not made available to the public until three months later. We offer you the access to this exclusive article from May’s bulletin (GEAB n°105). If you want to read our articles in real time, subscribe to the GEAB!

The game-changer of the Russian intervention in Syria  

The Russian intervention in Syria has been a success for several reasons. First of all, it is a rare case of a military flash-operation, inducing a ceasefire after a few weeks only to a five-year long conflict, followed by a nearly complete withdrawal of the Russian military from the intervention area. Of course, the truce of February 27 is fragile and somewhat relative. Assad’s regime started a series of air strikes in Aleppo, seriously challenging this truce for two weeks, but the Americans and Russians are uniting in order to resurrect it[2]. IN any case, the truce actually lasted eight weeks, while the commentators didn’t give it one week when it was signed.

The reversal of the situation caused by this intervention turned Russia into a credible force of reorganization in the Middle East (as seen in the article on “The method change” in this very bulletin): the Doha meeting particularly owes much to Russia; Russia is now seen by many regional players as a positive game-changer[3]; even Turkey, in the aftermath of its EU emancipation, could find possibilities of restoring its relations with Russia.

Moreover, with the Ukraine on the table and while Syria was providing a new conflict area for Russia and the United States, the Russian intervention forced the Americans to get involved to avoid looking as if they were losing hand. Getting Russia and the US, shoulder to shoulder, on a military strategy in Syria is quite a tour de force… owing a lot to Obama’s intelligence also.

Finally, from the EU perspective, there is no doubt that the Russian intervention was welcomed with a sigh of relief as the migrant crisis was badly rocking the boat of European public opinion. Even if our media is trying to make us believe that the reduction of the flow of migrants is related to the EU-Turkey[4] agreement or NATO’s presence in the Aegean Sea[5], it is because they would prefer that to a more simple truth: that the lull in the conflict allows the Syrians to remain at home.

Russia’s remarkable come-back on the international stage provides an ideal window of opportunity for Vladimir Putin to leave the Russian presidency standing tall.

A relative improvement in the Ukraine as well

In 2015, Europeans and Russians certainly failed to solve the Ukrainian crisis, but at least they managed to freeze it. Since then, nothing much happened. But recently, a significant event took place with the resignation of Prime Minister Yatsenyuk[6] the most violently anti-Russian member of the government… and a good friend of Victoria Nuland, this great American diplomat well-known for her resounding “F… the EU!” in 2014, but also for her conversations with the US Ambassador in the Ukraine during the Maidan case, mentioning “Yats” as a member of the next government[7]. This resignation can indicate a longing to ease relations with Russia, but in any case it certainly provides the opportunity for that.

The urgent need to restart the EU-Russia dialogue 

We have often said that the context of tension strengthens Putin’s position… and forces him to stay in place: it is not wise to change players during a game. The window of opportunity, provided by the undeniable cooling off, allows to consider a change aiming to unfreeze the relations between Europe and Russia. We estimate that both the European and Russian sides regard this unfreezing as a major objective:

. Both economically and strategically, it is a disaster for Russia (even if Russians don’t show it) to be cut off from its European pair, but Russia will not lay down arms; it is as a totally free and independent country that it must find ways to become compatible with Europe again

graph 1

Figure 1 –Russia’ trade balance, and yearly exports (red) and imports (blue) evolvement, Feb 2014-Feb 2016. Source: Focus Economics.

. For the EU, the great dangers following the disagreement with Russia in Eastern Europe and the Balkans, the resulting strengthening of the US military presence in various parts of its territory, and the obvious economic loss resulting from the amputation of its Eastern flank, all combined with the fact that the friendship with Russia is still alive on both sides of civil society, bring to the conclusion that the perpetuation of the current situation is absurd. Europeans will jump on the first occasion to re-establish dialogue with Russia

The European public opinion is ready 

With few exceptions (the Baltic countries and Poland, maybe), the European public opinion has not bought the anti-Russian hatred. The focus occurs around the character of Putin, but in a very polarized way, in fact: on the one hand, there are those who see Putin as a dictator; on the other, those who see him as a great politician, in line with politicians like Churchill or De Gaulle, the kind of leaders they would like to see in Europe again. Needless to say, the political leadership model embodied by Putin in Western Europe is not to the taste of everybody in Europe.

The desire to return to normal terms with Russia is fairly strong in many EU countries: in Italy, Matteo Renzi has clearly worked in this direction for a long time[8]; in France, the National Assembly voted recently to lift sanctions[9]; the Netherlands have voted “no” to the free trade agreement with the Ukraine, clearly expressing their desire not to see relations with Russia deteriorate further[10]; in Eastern Europe, the Czech[11], Slovak[12], Bulgarian[13], and Hungarian[14] governments have asked for a restart of dialogue.

China and the BRICS in the background 

On the BRICS side, the banning of Russia, as we have seen many times, is a serious blow to all the efforts of compatibility between emerging powers and the West. The BRICS have found themselves significantly weakened. The hypothesis formulated by LEAP regarding the need for a strategic Euro-BRICS rapprochement by 2015 was shattered in 2014, along with prospects for the emergence of an organised multipolar world, in favour of a more Chinese global governance reform agenda, on a direct line to future confrontation with the United States. Suffice it to say that China and the BRICS certainly do not see clearly the Euro-Russian dispute, and China and the BRICS have become key partners to Russia. The objective of creating the conditions for a relaxation of tension is enhanced, maybe even asked directly, by these new allies of Russia. The BRICS are indeed the guarantee that Russia will not retreat into a national prideful reaction, rather improper from a global perspective.

A borderline economic situation

Russia is putting a smiling face on its economic situation, but it really is starting to suffer from those outlawed trade flows with Europe, from the increase in military spending (+ 21% in 2015) and from the fall in oil prices[15]. Despite the latter, the country managed to not trim its international reserves too much thanks to a clever policy of diversification of funding sources imposed by the Central Bank of Russia, but the CBR’s monetary policy weighed heavily on consumers and citizens[16]. The devaluation of the ruble created a galloping inflation which considerably reduced the standard of living of the middle class that was emerging until 2014.  Like Saudi Arabia, it has to undertake a major reform of its economic programme to reduce its dependence on energy exportations and raw materials.

This month, the Ministry of Finance had again reached into the Reserve Fund to finance the $5 billion budget deficit of the country, bringing the Fund from 50 to 45 billion. The Reserve Fund is an essential deficit damper, the collapse of which, at current rates, could lead to annihilation by the end of the year[17].

graph 2

Figure 2 – Russia’s Reserve Fund, in trillions of rubbles, June 2015-May 2016. Source: economy.com.

The military spending is weighing heavily on the deficit, of course, and the soothing of Euro-Russian relations would be an important angle of deficit management; the other angle, of course, would consist of cuts in the welfare system expenditures, undermining the stability of the country and forcing the government to tighten domestic policies, while putting the country’s democratization perspectives on hold.

Putin’s character at the heart of the problem 

Whether we are for or against Putin, and whatever we think of his strategic skills, one thing is certain, he is the heart of the problem. Coming from Cold War times, he is one of those leaders who, like Rousseff, Cristina Fernandez, and Nicolas Maduro, are certainly symbols of the transition from one century to another, but also the avatars of fights of the past. In short, Putin reminds too much of the KGB to fulfil the transition he himself triggered. To fluidify the multipolar relations, representatives of major national players must present a decidedly twenty-first century image. This is what it takes to cut the grass under the feet of all those who try to resurrect the demons of the last century: overcome the past… being careful nonetheless not to forget it.

Russia will not become compatible with Europe and the West again as long as Putin continues to be its image, but Russia, as we have said, will not yield to force; voluntarily and under its own conditions this country must, at some point, create a surprise which will catch everyone unaware. We believe the conditions are almost ripe for this to occur.

The US future is uncertain, too

Of course, these conditions are fragile. That said, as uncertainty about the US foreign policy in the next presidential term prevails, as we have seen, a lot of players are adjusting their positions, reason why we anticipate that 2016 will be rich in structural transformations. That is also why we think the sudden change in Euro-Russian relations must take place before the next US president comes into office (i.e. January 2017). After that things can really start getting nasty, potentially forcing Putin to remain another term in power… leading Europe and Russia in a real Cold War.

The next presidential election seems too far away

The next Russian presidential election is scheduled for 2018[18], much too late if we take into account the constraints which were outlined above. That said, all the better: the effect generated by the announcement that Putin will not run in the election will be stronger in the case of early elections. The same announcement in the normal electoral calendar might suggest that Putin would expect to be beaten. Early elections, depending on his decision, will leave no doubt about the reality of his deliberate intention to leave power, especially at a time when the polls are as favourable to him as now[19].

graph 3

Figure 3 – Putin’s approval rating in Russia, 1999-2016. Source: Rosstat

Of course, early presidential elections cannot take place before the parliamentary elections planned for September[20]. These elections by the way provide the framework of a political expression likely to be exploited for the purpose of announcing early presidential elections.

Visible mobilization indicators in this direction

Right now, it is time to look at what clues might show a mobilization in this direction.

And we find rumours of “purge” which would be conducted by Putin in the Russian political system[21]. That would make sense, considering what has been stated above: Putin will not pass the hand should there be any risk that power will go to a vassal of the West.

Furthermore, the holding economic conferences gathering a variety of specialists (experts, opposition, left wing, the ruling party) of the country, seems to indicate a desire for reform in this area[22].

The parliamentary elections of September provide the framework for new experiences of democratization[23]. Earlier this year, the Duma passed a law requiring televisions to broadcast the debates of all candidates. Then in March, a famous human rights activist was given the directorship of the country’s electoral observatory.

The strengthening of security[24], seemingly meant to restrict possible street protests, may also belong to a series of measures to prevent any risk of internal destabilization right before the parliamentary elections and possibly early presidential elections too. Indeed, the stability of the Russian situation is essential for the implementation of this strategy, as we said before.

In seeking further, we even manage to find the idea of early elections[25] within the speech made in June by Alexei Kudrin[26]. Our readers might recall that this character was spotted by us long ago as a likely planned successor of Putin: a liberal reformer loyal to Putin, he is not a vassal of the West, but would provide a modern and Western-compatible face to Russia.

Putin: mission accomplished 

Now let’s imagine the effect of such an announcement from Putin: cutting the grass under the feet of his critics, allowing him a well-deserved retirement, contributing to the entry of Russia into the next century (a Russia freed from any suggestion of Soviet rule, a recognized power, ready to play the role of a bridge between the Western powers and the emerging powers in cooperation with Europe)… Putin would remain in the history books as the strong leader having managed the transition period and having left the democratization issue to the heir of a stabilized and strengthened situation. This sounds like a perfect world. Yet, the chances to see this development set up are real, and they will be played out between October 2016 and January 2017. However, any unbalancing of the Russian position will challenge that perspective of soothing of relations and of restarting a peaceful future. Hopefully, the window of opportunity will not close too early.



[1]     Source: Manual of Political Anticipation, by Marie-Hélène Caillol, Editions Anticipolis (2009)

[2]     Source: Reuters, 09/05/2016

[3]     Sources: MorrocoWorldNews, 14/04/2016; Ennahar, 27/04/2016; Reuters, 10/05/2016; Reuters, 13/05/2016;  Xinhua, 22/04/2016; Reuters, 12/05/2016, etc.

[4]     Source: Reuters, 20/04/2016

[5]     Source: Greek Reporter, 11/02/2016

[6]     Source : The Independent, 10/04/2016

[7]     Source: BBC, 07/02/2014

[8]     Source: Reuters, 16/12/2015

[9]     Source: La Tribune, 28/04/2016

[10]   Source: Financial Times, 30/03/2016

[11]   Source: Radio Praha, 14/08/2014

[12]   Source: The Slovak Spectator, 03/06/2015

[13]   Source: Euractiv, 08/10/2015

[14]   Source: Reuters, 10/03/2016

[15]   Source: Politico, 11/05/2016

[16]   Source: The Economist, 16/04/2016

[17]   Source: Bloomberg, 13/01/2016

[18]   Source: Wikipedia

[19]   Source: Sputnik, 05/05/2016

[20]   Source: Wikipedia

[21]   Source: unz, 21/04/2016

[22]   Source: me-forum.ru

[23]   This article is a real ray of hope… and highly legitimizes our team’s thesis. Source: Frontera, 03/05/2016

[24]   Source : Sofia Goble, 08/03/2016

[25]   Source : Reuters, 18/06/2015

[26]   Source : Wikipedia

About Marie Hélène

Accueil / Accueil / Home / Dernier trimestre 2016 : Poutine quitte la présidence russe (Extrait GEAB Mai 2016)
poutine sortie

Dernier trimestre 2016 : Poutine quitte la présidence russe (Extrait GEAB Mai 2016)

Nous tentons là une anticipation risquée mais qui a le mérite de fournir un angle intéressant sur le problème numéro un que l’UE a sur sa table depuis 2014 : la terrible dégradation de ses relations avec son plus proche et plus puissant voisin, la Russie. Par ailleurs, comme nous en établissons la règle dans le Manuel d’Anticipation Politique[1], l’exercice d’anticipation consiste à « penser l’impensable »… et à l’argumenter. C’est ainsi qu’un certain nombre de considérations, au premier rang desquelles le fait que l’intervention de la Russie en Syrie constitue un facteur de changement majeur, nous amène à formuler l’hypothèse suivante : « D’ici le début 2017, Vladimir Poutine pourrait annoncer des élections présidentielles anticipées auxquelles il ne se présentera pas. »

Voici maintenant la liste des faits et considérations qui nous ont amenés à faire cette hypothèse.

Le GEAB, la lettre confidentielle du LEAP, est un bulletin mensuel accessible par abonnement et dont les contenus sont soumis à une clause de confidentialité de 3 mois. Nous vous offrons l’accès en exclusivité à cet article issu du bulletin de mai 2016 (GEAB n°105). Pour lire ce type d’article en temps réel abonnez-vous au GEAB!

Le game-changer de l’intervention russe en Syrie

L’intervention de la Russie en Syrie est un succès à plusieurs titres. Tout d’abord, elle constitue un cas rare d’intervention militaire-éclair, permettant en quelques jours d’obtenir une trêve dans un conflit qui durait depuis 5 ans, et suivie du retrait quasi-complet de la présence militaire russe sur la zone d’intervention. Bien sûr, la trêve du 27 février est fragile et relative. Depuis deux semaines, les bombardements d’Alep par le régime d’Assad la remettent sérieusement en question. Mais Américains et Russes s’unissent pour la ressusciter[2]. Et elle a tout de même effectivement tenu 8 semaines alors que les commentateurs ne lui donnaient pas une semaine quand elle a été signée.

Le renversement de situation induit par cette intervention a transformé la Russie en force crédible de réorganisation du Moyen-Orient (comme on le voit dans l’article sur « Le changement de méthode » du présent numéro) : la réunion de Doha en particulier doit beaucoup à la Russie ; la Russie est désormais perçue par de nombreux acteurs régionaux comme une force de changement positif[3] ; même la Turquie, dans la foulée de son émancipation de l’UE, pourrait trouver des chances de rétablissement de ses relations avec la Russie.

D’autre part, en pleine tension sur la question de l’Ukraine et alors que la Syrie fournissait un nouveau front de conflit entre la Russie et les États-Unis, cette intervention russe a obligé les Américains à en faire part pour ne pas donner l’impression de perdre la main. La Russie et les États-Unis au coude à coude sur une stratégie militaire en Syrie c’est tout de même un sacré tour de force… qui doit aussi à l’intelligence d’Obama.

Enfin, du côté de l’UE, pas de doute que l’intervention russe a été accueillie avec soulagement dans le contexte d’une crise des migrants qui commençait à faire méchamment tanguer les opinions publiques européennes. Or, si nos médias tentent de faire croire que la réduction des flux est liée aux accords UE-Turquie[4] ou à la présence de l’OTAN en Mer Egée[5], c’est qu’ils préfèrent cette version à l’explication très simple consistant à admettre que l’accalmie du conflit permet sans doute tout simplement aux Syriens de rester chez eux.

Le retour remarquable de la Russie sur la scène internationale fournit une fenêtre d’opportunité idéale pour que Vladimir Poutine quitte la présidence russe la tête haute.

Une relative embellie en Ukraine aussi

En 2015, Européens et Russes n’ont certes pas réussi à régler la crise ukrainienne ; mais au moins ont-ils réussi à la geler. Depuis lors, il ne se passait plus grand-chose de ce côté. Mais récemment, un événement important est advenu avec la démission du premier ministre Yatsenyuk[6], à savoir le plus violemment anti-russe des membres du gouvernement… et le bon ami de la grande diplomate américaine Victoria Nuland (bien connue pour son retentissant « Fuck the EU ! » en 2014 ainsi que pour ses conversations avec l’ambassadeur US en Ukraine pendant Maidan mentionnant de manière familière « Yats » comme membre du prochain gouvernement à composer[7]). Cette démission peut évoquer une volonté de détente des relations avec la Russie ; elle en fournit en tout cas l’opportunité.

L’impératif de reprise de dialogue euro-russe

Nous l’avons souvent dit, le contexte de tension renforce la position de Poutine… et l’oblige à rester en place : on ne change pas de joueurs en pleine partie. La fenêtre d’opportunité fournie par l’indéniable baisse de tension en cours permet en revanche d’envisager un changement dont le but serait de dégeler les relations entre Europe et Russie. Notre équipe estime que, tant du côté européen que du côté russe, ce dégel est un objectif majeur :

- tant sur le plan économique que stratégique, c’est une véritable catastrophe pour la Russie, quelque bonne figure qu’en fassent les Russes, que d’être coupée de son binôme européen. Mais la Russie ne déposera pas les armes ; c’est en pays libre et indépendant qu’elle doit trouver le moyen de redevenir compatible avec l’Europe ;

graph 1

Figure 1 – Balance commerciale de la Russie, et variation annuelle des exportations (rouge) et des importations (bleu), février 2014-février 2016. Source : Focus Economics.

- pour l’UE, les grands dangers que fait courir la mésentente avec les Russes en Europe de l’Est et dans les Balkans, le renforcement de la présence militaire américaine qui en résulte en divers endroits de son territoire, et l’évident manque à gagner économique résultant de l’amputation de son flanc oriental, tout cela combiné avec le fait que des liens d’amitié avec la Russie sont toujours à l’œuvre de part et d’autre de la société civile, rendent absurde la perpétuation de la situation actuelle. Les Européens seront les premiers à sauter sur la première occasion de renouer le dialogue.

Les opinions publiques européennes sont prêtes

À quelques exceptions près (dans les pays baltes et en Pologne – et encore), les opinions publiques européennes n’ont pas basculé dans la haine anti-russe. La focalisation éventuelle a bien lieu autour du personnage de Poutine, mais d’une manière très polarisée en fait : d’un côté, ceux qui considèrent Poutine comme un dictateur ; de l’autre, ceux qui le voient comme un grand homme politique de la carrure d’un Churchill ou d’un De Gaulle et tel qu’ils aimeraient bien en voir à nouveau en Europe. Inutile de préciser que le modèle de leadership politique qu’incarne Poutine en Europe occidentale n’est pas au goût de tout le monde. La volonté d’un retour à la normale en matière de relations avec la Russie est donc forte dans de nombreux pays de l’UE : en Italie, Matteo Renzi œuvre visiblement dans ce sens depuis longtemps[8] ; en France, l’Assemblée nationale a voté pour la levée des sanctions récemment[9] ; les Pays-Bas en votant « non » à l’accord de libre-échange avec l’Ukraine exprime assez clairement leur volonté de ne pas voir les relations avec la Russie se détériorer davantage[10] ; en Europe de l’Est, les gouvernements tchèques[11], slovaques[12], bulgares[13], hongrois[14]… demandent la remise en route du dialogue.

La Chine et les BRICS en arrière-plan

Côté BRICS, la mise au ban de la Russie, on l’a vu maintes fois, est un grave coup porté à tout l’effort de mise en compatibilité des puissances émergentes avec l’Occident. Les BRICS s’en sont trouvés considérablement affaiblis. L’hypothèse, formulée par LEAP, de la nécessité d’un rapprochement stratégique Euro-BRICS à l’horizon 2015 a volé en éclat en 2014, et les perspectives d’émergence organisée d’un monde multipolaire avec lui, au profit d’une sinisation accru de l’agenda de réforme de la gouvernance mondiale, sur une ligne de confrontation directe avec les États-Unis à terme. Autant dire que la Chine et les BRICS ne voient certainement pas d’un bon œil le différend euro-russe. Or la Chine et les BRICS sont devenus des partenaires de premier plan pour la Russie. L’objectif de créer les conditions d’une détente est donc renforcé, voire demandé directement, par ces nouvelles alliances de la Russie. Les BRICS sont en effet la garantie que la Russie ne s’enferme pas dans une réaction de fierté mal à propos d’un point de vue global.

Une situation économique limite

La Russie fait bonne figure mais elle commence à souffrir vraiment de sa mise au ban des flux commerciaux avec l’Europe, de l’augmentation de ses dépenses militaires (+21% en 2015) et de la baisse des prix du pétrole[15]. Malgré cette dernière, elle a réussi à ne pas rogner trop ses réserves internationales, grâce à une habile politique de diversification des sources de financement de la part de la banque centrale de Russie ; mais la politique monétaire de la BCR a pesé lourd sur les consommateurs et les citoyens[16]. La dévaluation du rouble fait galoper une inflation qui diminue considérablement le niveau de vie de la classe moyenne qui émergeait jusqu’en 2014.

Tout comme l’Arabie saoudite, elle se doit d’entreprendre un vaste projet de réforme de son économie destiné à réduire sa dépendance aux exportations d’énergie et de matières premières.

Mais surtout, ce mois-ci, le Ministère des Finances a eu à nouveau recours au Fonds de Réserve pour financer 5 milliards USD de déficit budgétaire du pays, ramenant le Fonds de 50 à 45 milliards. Le Fonds de réserve est un amortisseur de déficit essentiel dont l’effondrement au rythme actuel pourrait aboutir à l’anéantissement d’ici la fin de l’année[17].

 graph 2

Figure 2 – Montant du fonds de réserve russe, en billions de roubles, juin 2015-mai 2016. Source : economy.com.

Les dépenses militaires pesant lourd bien entendu dans le déficit, la détente euro-russe est un axe important de gestion du déficit ; l’autre axe étant bien sûr les coupes dans le système social, fragilisant la stabilité du pays et obligeant le gouvernement à durcir sa politique intérieure, et repoussant les perspectives de démocratisation du pays.

Le personnage de Poutine au cœur du problème

Que l’on soit pour ou contre Poutine, quoi que l’on pense de ses qualités de stratège, une chose est certaine : il est le nœud du problème. Issu de la guerre froide, il fait partie de ces dirigeants qui, tels Dilma Roussef, Cristina Fernandez, Nicolas Maduro… sont certes des symboles de la transition d’un siècle à l’autre, mais aussi les avatars de combats d’un autre temps. De manière très résumée, Poutine sent trop le KGB pour parachever lui-même la transition qu’il a enclenchée. Pour fluidifier les relations multipolaires, les représentants des grands acteurs nationaux doivent présenter une image résolument XXIe siècle. C’est ce qu’il faut aussi pour couper l’herbe sous les pieds de tous ceux qui tentent de ressusciter les démons du siècle dernier : s’affranchir du passé… en faisant attention tout de même de ne pas l’oublier. La Russie ne redeviendra pas compatible avec l’Europe et l’Occident tant que Poutine l’incarnera. Mais la Russie, comme nous l’avons déjà dit, ne cédera pas à la force ; c’est donc de son plein gré et à ses conditions qu’elle doit à un moment créer une surprise qui prenne tout le monde de court.

Notre équipe estime que les conditions sont à peu près réunies pour cette sortie par le haut.

L’avenir incertain côté américain

Bien entendu les conditions en question sont fragiles. Cela dit, l’incertitude qui pèse sur la politique étrangère des États-Unis qui prévaudra dans le cadre du prochain mandat présidentiel, oblige, comme nous l’avons vu, tout un tas d’acteurs à bouger leurs positions. C’est ainsi que nous anticipons que l’année 2016 sera riche en transformations structurelles. C’est pour cette raison également que nous estimons que le coup d’éclat restaurant la relation euro-russe doit avoir lieu d’ici la prise de fonction du prochain président américain. C’est vraiment une fenêtre d’opportunité à ne pas rater : les choses peuvent vraiment se gâter à partir de 2017, ce qui obligerait Poutine à rester un mandat de plus… entraînant l’Europe et la Russie dans une véritable guerre froide.

Prochaine élection présidentielle trop loin

Or la prochaine élection présidentielle russe est prévue en 2018[18], soit beaucoup trop tard si l’on prend en compte les contraintes énoncées plus haut. Cela dit, tant mieux : l’effet généré par l’annonce que Poutine ne participera pas à l’élection sera d’autant plus fort que ces élections seront anticipées. La même annonce dans le cadre du calendrier électoral normal pourrait laisser penser que Poutine anticipe de se faire battre. Des élections anticipées qui dépendent de sa décision ne laisseront aucun doute sur la réalité de sa volonté délibérée de passer la main. Surtout à un moment où les sondages lui sont aussi favorables qu’actuellement[19].

graph 3

Figure 3 – Cote de popularité de Poutine en Russie, 1999-2016. Source : Rosstat.

Bien entendu, des élections présidentielles anticipées ne pourront avoir lieu avant l’élection parlementaire prévue en septembre[20]. Celle-ci fournit d’ailleurs un cadre d’expression politique susceptible d’être exploité à des fins d’annonce d’élections présidentielles anticipées.

Indicateurs de mobilisation dans ce sens

À ce stade de nos conjectures, il est temps de regarder quels indices pourraient laisser transparaître une mobilisation dans ce sens. On tombe alors sur des rumeurs de « purge » qu’effectuerait Poutine dans le système politique russe[21]. Voilà qui serait logique compte tenu de ce qui a été énoncé plus haut : Poutine ne passera pas la main s’il y a un risque que le pouvoir revienne à un homme-lige de l’Occident.

Par ailleurs, la tenue de congrès économiques réunissant toutes les forces vives (experts, opposition, gauche, parti au pouvoir) du pays semble indiquer une volonté de réforme dans ce domaine[22].

Les élections parlementaires de septembre prochain fournissent le cadre à de nouvelles expériences de démocratisation[23]. En début d’année, la Douma a voté une loi obligeant les télévisions à retransmettre les débats de tous les candidats. Puis en mars, une activiste des droits de l’homme reconnue s’est vu confier la direction de l’observatoire électoral du pays.

Le renforcement sécuritaire[24], en particulier destiné à tuer dans l’œuf des manifestations de rue, peut aussi appartenir à une série de mesure visant à éviter tout risque de déstabilisation interne en amont de l’élection parlementaire et éventuellement présidentielle anticipée. Nous l’avons dit : la stabilité de la situation russe est indispensable à la mise en place de cette stratégie.

En cherchant mieux, on trouve même cette idée d’élections anticipées[25] formulée en juin dernier par Alexei Koudrine[26] qui, si nos lecteurs s’en souviennent, est ce personnage que nous avions repéré depuis longtemps comme étant probablement le successeur programmé de Poutine : libéral réformateur fidèle à Poutine, il n’est pas un homme-lige de l’Occident mais donnerait un visage moderne et occidentalo-compatible à la Russie.

Poutine, mission accomplie

Imaginons maintenant l’effet d’une telle annonce de la part de Poutine : coupant l’herbe sous les pieds de ses détracteurs, lui permettant une retraite bien méritée, actant de l’entrée de la Russie dans le XXIe siècle, une Russie débarrassée des relents de soviétisme, à la puissance reconnue, prête à jouer le rôle de trait d’union entre les puissances occidentales et les puissances émergentes qui lui incombe en coopération avec l’Europe, Poutine restant dans les livres d’histoire comme le leader fort ayant géré la période de transition et laissant le soin de la démocratisation à l’héritier d’une situation stabilisée… Cela ressemble à un monde idéal. Et pourtant, les chances de voir cette évolution se mettre en place sont réelles et elles se jouent entre octobre 2016 et janvier 2017. En revanche, tout déséquilibrage de la position russe remettra en question cette perspective de détente et de remise en route d’un avenir de paix. Espérons que la fenêtre d’opportunité ne se referme pas trop tôt.


[1]     Source : Manuel d’Anticipation Politique, par Marie-Hélène Caillol, Editions Anticipolis (2009)

[2]     Source : Reuters, 09/05/2016

[3]     Sources : MorrocoWorldNews, 14/04/2016 ; Ennahar, 27/04/2016 ; Reuters, 10/05/2016 ; Reuters, 13/05/2016 ;  Xinhua, 22/04/2016 ; Reuters, 12/05/2016, etc.

[4]     Source : Reuters, 20/04/2016

[5]     Source : Greek Reporter, 11/02/2016

[6]     Source : The Independent, 10/04/2016

[7]     Source : BBC, 07/02/2014

[8]     Source : Reuters, 16/12/2015

[9]     Source : La Tribune, 28/04/2016

[10]   Source : Financial Times, 30/03/2016

[11]   Source : Radio Praha, 14/08/2014

[12]   Source : The Slovak Spectator, 03/06/2015

[13]   Source : Euractiv, 08/10/2015

[14]   Source : Reuters, 10/03/2016

[15]   Source : Politico, 11/05/2016

[16]   Source : The Economist, 16/04/2016

[17]   Source : Bloomberg, 13/01/2016

[18]   Source : Wikipedia

[19]   Source : Sputnik, 05/05/2016

[20]   Source : Wikipedia

[21]   Source : unz, 21/04/2016

[22]   Source : me-forum.ru

[23]   Cet article est un vrai rayon d’espoir… et conforte largement la thèse de notre équipe. Source : Frontera, 03/05/2016

[24]   Source : Sofia Goble, 08/03/2016

[25]   Source : Reuters, 18/06/2015

[26]   Source : Wikipedia

À propos Marie Hélène

LEAP, Membre de la WFSF

Les Réseaux Franck Biancheri